Share and Care

Share and Care

National Day Celebration 2018 in Jalan Besar GRC

Sunday, 26 August 2018

Share refers to have, use and enjoy something with others. Care refers to have concern about others, implying helping, cherishing, and looking after.

On August 26, Jalan Besar GRC organised the National Day ” Share and Care” activity 2018. The event was officiated by the Senior Minister of State for Defence and MP for Jalan Besar GRC, Mr. Heng Chee How, and Grassroots Leaders, Sian Chay Chairman , Mr. Toh Soon Huat, Director of Sian Chay , Ms. Annie Gan, and the colleagues and volunteers from Sian Chay HQ.

Sian Chay Medical Institution sponsored 760 goodie bags, each worth about $10, for the needy residents to celebrate the National Day.

Minister Heng Chee How personally led the grassroots leaders and volunteers to distribute the goodie bags. He said, “Thank you so much for the goodie bags sponsored by Sian Chay Medical Institution under the leadership of Chairman Toh Soon Huat. I hope these goodie bags can bring joy to the low-income families; esp the needy and the single elderly .”

Most of these households are single, unemployed or a couple with one patient, and some are low-income couples with 7-8 children living together.

Mr. Toh Soon Huat said, “It is very sad to see they are struggling in living. We hope that more capable people can participate in this worthy social cause and let the vulnerable groups feel the love and care!”

The volunteers then set out into groups to visit the HDB blocks. Minister Heng and Chairman Toh, along with the Directors and grassroots leaders started the home visit together. The first door Minister Heng knocked on was a Malay auntie sitting on the floor with an injured leg. She was very overjoyed to meet the Minister’s delegation. When looking inside, we could see that the home was shabby, and their livelihood must be quite difficult. She kept saying thank you when Minister Heng and Chairman Toh handed her the goodie bag.

Another family was with an 18-year-old boy, who beamed with pleasure when seeing Minister delivered the goodie bag. There were two young children playing around. When Minister asked about his siblings, he replied, “I have to take care of seven younger siblings and continue with  studying.” How could such a small flat accommodate so many people? Suddenly we felt the strength and courage of the little young man. We hoped that the goodie bag might more or less help his living. Their relentless and optimistic attitude deeply touched us.

Sian Chay Medical Institution delivered care and love to residents through this activity. Meanwhile, it promotes the five core values through its own actions, which are “Forgiveness, Universal Love, Compassion, Gratitude and Blessing”. Through active participation in the charity events, Sian Chay is also practicing its social responsibility advocated by Chairman Toh Soon Huat, which is “From the society, For the society”, and taking care of the vulnerable groups, with labour or money. We wish everyone could work together to contribute to charity causes within one’s own efforts. Nation Progresses, Family Prospers; Family Harmony, Successful Endeavours. Forwards with the Nation, Bonding with the People. It will make a better society. This is not only the commitment of Sian Chay, but also the basic responsibility and obligation of every Singaporean. Let’s move forward and work together for a better Singapore.

《分享与关怀》

《分享与关怀》

  ———惹兰勿刹集选区欢庆国庆2018

2017年8月26日(星期日)

分享:是指与他人分着享受、使用、行使。关怀:是指关心,含有帮助、爱护、照顾。

8月26日,惹兰勿刹集选区举办  《分享与关怀》欢庆国庆2018活动,出席活动的有国防部高级政务部长,惹兰勿刹集选区国会议员王志豪先生、基层领袖、善济医社董事局主席卓顺发先生、董事颜毓莹女士,还有善济总部同事及义工都参与其中。

善济医社赞助了760份,每份10元的日常生活用品礼包予经济较困难的居民分享,共同欢度国庆。

王志豪部长亲自率领基层领袖和义工分工合作,王部长分享说:“很感谢由卓顺发主席领导的善济医社赞助的礼包,希望礼包可以让低收入家庭、经济较困难的年长者和独居老人开心。”

据悉,这些住户大多是单身,没有劳动力或者夫妻中有一位是病患者,还有些是夫妻带着7、8个孩子一起住的低收入家庭。

卓顺发先生分享说:“看到他们的生存状态很是心酸,我们生活的很幸福,希望更多有能力的人能够参与到这项有意义的社会工作中,让周围的弱势群体感受到关爱!”

大家开始分组到各座组屋,王志豪部长和卓顺发主席以及董事和几位社区领袖为一组到其中的一座组屋,当部长敲开第一家时,是一位腿部受伤坐在地上的马来阿姨,部长一行的到来让她很是开心,从门外可以看到室内的简陋和生存的不易,当王志豪部长和卓顺发先生将礼包送到他手中时,他感激的连连道谢。

另外一户则是一位18岁的小男生,看到部长来问候送温暖“礼包”喜笑颜开,他身边还有二个弟弟妹妹在玩耍,当部长问他家里几个弟弟妹妹时,他回答说:“我一个人要照顾七个弟弟妹妹,还要学习”,这么小的房子怎么能住这么多人?顿时也让我们感觉到小男生的坚强和勇敢,我们送出的礼包,对于她的生活或多或少能够帮助到一些,他们不畏生活艰辛,依然乐观向上的态度,深深的打动了我们!”

通过此次活动,善济医社将善济的关爱传递给了居民,同时通过自身的行动弘扬着善济五大文化价值观:宽容、大爱、慈悲、感恩和祝福。善济医社也正通过每一次参与组织慈善活动,践行着卓顺发主席所弘扬的善济社会责任:取之社会,用之社会。照顾社会弱势群体,有钱出钱、有力出力,大家尽心尽力,为慈善献一份力。有国才有家,家和才万事兴,只有善与国同在,济与民同心社会才会越来越美好,这不仅是善济医社的担当,这同时也是每一个新加坡人不可推卸的责任与义务,我们共同前进,为了新加坡更加美好的未来努力!