The New Book Sharing Session of “Treasure Life, Gratitude to Humanity”

Life Is cultivation, Life Is a responsibility

The New Book Sharing Session of “Treasure Life, Gratitude to Humanity” by the Philanthropist and Justice of Peace Toh Soon Huat on 17th November 2018 (Saturday)

Q & A

  1. Lim Denan: “I would like to know if your diabetes was the key factor on for giving up your business in the listed company?”

Chairman Toh: “It had nothing to do with that at all. The main reason for divesting the company was humanity. If I had to continue to run the company, I would have made more money. Many people have speculated about my leaving the company. Some people say that I was not on good terms with the directors. Some people say that I was suffering from  cancer. Some people say that I had financial difficulty. None of them was true. The reason is that I decided to seek for a more peaceful lifestyle and try to cultivate myself.”

  1. Lim Denan: “Why are you so active in promoting culture and arts? What does this meant to you?”

Chairman Toh: “I think literary people are very remarkable. If one knows how to write well, why don’t they put kindness and compassion into it! Use knowledge to influence and help more needy people . In my opinion, charity should be combined with arts. For example, in 2018, we held many art charity events, including art exhibitions, concerts, etc. I believe that the future should link humanities, education, arts with charity to make them flourish. .”

  1. Lim Denan: “Have you ever thought about taking a break in 2019? After all, the funds raised so far are able to support the operation expenses for the next few years.”

Chairman Toh: “As long as I have the chance to raise funds, I will not rest.”

  1. Lim Denan: ” You just mentioned that the fundraising in the future will rely on the audience sitting in front of us. Can you explain it to us? How do you rely on these people?”

Chairman Toh: “Charity is a cause that requires perseverance in the long run. Through this sharing session, I hope that all of you here today will influence more friends around to pay attention to and understand and support charity. Maybe you cannot achieve it today, but you can achieve it one year later, ten years later, as long as you don’t give up, stick to it. I am very grateful that there have been many noble people around me supporting me silently and donating to Sian Chay Medical Institution. If you ask me to choose again, I will still choose the path of charity. We are expecting that in June next year, Sian Chay will be organizing the TV Charity Show; and we will appreciate your kind donation even if it is $5 or $10. Sian Chay is serving the public, and it also needs support from the public.”

  1. Lim Denan: “I want to ask the chairman, how have you avoided those ” back stabbing ” in ‘society ’ for so many years?”

Chairman Toh: “’Society’ is everywhere in the life. You must know how to choose, to avoid those circles you do not belong to, avoid unnecessary arguments. It is the most important to choose the right direction and path.”

  1. Lim Denan: “Why do you believed Mr. Toh Soon Huat was the right person to helm Sian Chay?”

Mr. Lee Kin Hong: “Sian Chay Medical Institution was facing a big problem and almost reached the point of closure. We even thought about merging with other charitable institutions. I happened to meet Toh Soon Huat. He could not bear to see a medical institution with a hundred-year history shut down and he took the challenge. Over the years, his contribution and efforts are obvious to us and he makes Sian Chay better and better. We all appreciate his hard work.”

  1. Lim Denan: “Two years ago, Mr. Toh Soon Huat also held a new book sharing session here. The guest speaker at the time was Mr. Chua Chee Lay. After two years, can you talk about your feelings at the moment?”

Professor Chua Chee Lay: “In the era of the advanced commercial world with excellent business people, what Mr. Toh Soon Huat touched me most is that he is a highly intelligent entrepreneur. I rarely see anyone who is so enthusiastic and dedicated in charity, education and arts. He not only shoulder Sian Chay Medical Institution, but also personally donates money to other organizations and needy individuals . Chairman Toh knows that it is not easy to be engaged in culture and arts. Just awhile ago, Chairman Toh personally donated money to the Contemporary Arts Society. We deeply appreciate it. I also admire his courage because he chose to devote himself to charity at the peak of his career. He could see through a lot of confusion in the world and choose his own path. This is his most invaluable trait. Two years ago, I hosted the sharing session of Mr. Toh’s new book “Road”. At that time, I felt the book would always inspire you regardless which page you turned to. This is the amazing part of this book.”

  1. Lim Denan: “Mr. Teo Ngiang Heng, could you please talk about your thoughts!”

Mr. Teo Ngiang Heng: “I have known Chairman Toh for 30 years. He was a successful entrepreneur. I was fortunate enough to meet him at his home and he inspired me a lot.

He was like a fortune teller that his words have all come true, including about my future career. I have been following our Chairman. It is really not an easy task for Sian Chay Medical Institution to establish 15 branches. Chairman is really working very hard. All of our employees are interviewed and mentored by him. He is really a very compassionate philanthropist.”

  1. Audience: “Can you explain “ non- enlighten” and “Ignorance”? In addition, can you explain to us the differences between high education, high knowledge and kind nessknowledge?”

Chairman Toh: “Kindness knowledge is different from high education and high knowledge. There is no prejudice in kindness knowledge. I am a person with no high knowledge, but I will not care about it. I will not be lost. I will not be ignorant. I do not pursue eternity, but only care to have it once. If I have a chance to save 100 people in a day or 1000 people in a day, I will choose the latter. That is why Sian Chay now has 15 branches. In order to help more less privileged and needy patients , Sian Chay is distributing out gift packs, arranging free haircut, inviting the elderly to concerts and excursions etc. Do not care about the levels, just look at the realms.”

  1. Audience: ” Mr. Toh, will your family support you to do charity? Will you donate all your family’s property to charity when you pass away? Will you worry that after you leave this world, your children will fight for the estate?”

Chairman Toh: “at the time of my marriage , my wife and I were both workers. She could understand the meaning of help in times of need. I often told her, stay true to the original self. The money used is the asset and the money left is the estate. I will not worry about my wife’s and children’s lives after I leave this world. My wife doesn’t spend much. My children will support my wife. I don’t have to worry about things at home, so I can concentrate on charity.”

  1. Mr. Derek Goh: “I have known Chairman Toh for more than 20 years. In my opinion, he is a good brother. He is very compassionate. He will encourage others to donate money to Sian Chay Medical Institution and then personally donate money to others. The money we earn is for spending. Donating the money to charity to help needy people is worthy. I hope that my action can influence the friends around me and contribute to the charity together.”

《珍惜生命 感恩人生》新书发布分享会 (问答篇)

生活就是修行 生命就是承担

2018年11月17日(星期六),大慈善家卓顺发太平绅士,《珍惜生命 感恩人生》新书发布分享会 (问答篇)

问答环节

1.林得楠问:“我想知道糖尿病,是否是您当初放弃上市公司事业的影响因素?”

卓主席答:“完全没有关系。当初卖掉公司最主要是人性的问题,当时如果继续经营公司,会赚更多的钱,很多人对于我放手公司有很多猜测,有人说我是因为与股东们不和,有人说我是不是得了癌症,也有人说会不会是我经济出问题了,其实都不是,是因为我自己想安静一下,沉淀自己。”

2.林得楠问:“为什么您会如此积极的推广文化艺术?这样做对您有什么意义?”

卓主席答:“我认为会写东西的人都很了不起,一个人如果懂得写出好的东西,为什么不要把善心和慈悲放进去呢!去用知识影响更多的人、去帮助更多有需要的人。在我看来慈善应该与艺术结合,比如2018年我们举办了多场艺术慈善活动,包括画展、音乐会等,我认为未来应该将人文、教育、艺术与慈善挂钩,让它们发扬光大。”

  1. 林得楠问:“有没有想过在2019年让自己休息一下?毕竟目前筹到的善款已经可以延续接下来几年的经费了。”

卓主席答:“如果有机会能让我筹到善款,我是不会休息的。”

  1. 林得楠问:“刚刚您讲到,以后筹款是靠台下的这些人,能不能跟我们讲解一下,是如何靠台下的大家?”

卓主席答:“慈善是一项需要长期坚持的事业,我希望今天在座的各位,通过参与这次分享会,能让身边更多的朋友关注、了解慈善,能够影响到更多的人,支持慈善,也许今天的你还做不到,但是一年后、十年后的你一定做得到,只要不放弃,坚持就好。我很感谢一直以来身边有很多贵人相助,他们默默的支持着我,并捐献善款给善济医社,身体力行的做慈善,所以如果给我选择,我依然选择在慈善的道路上走下去。预计明年6月份,善济会筹办电视筹款,届时台下的各位善知识如果能献出你们的一份爱心,哪怕是5元、10元,也是在帮我们,善济医社是服务大家的,同样也需要大家的支持。”

  1. 林得楠问:“想问一下主席,在“江湖”这么多年,您是如何去避开、如何解决那些“暗箭”的呢?”

卓主席答:“人生处处是江湖,但要懂得如何选择,不是自己的场不要去,避开不必要的是非,选择正确的方向与道路最重要。”

6.林得楠问:“当初为何看上卓顺发先生,让他做善济的接班人?”

李庆烽先生答:“当初善济医社面临了很大的问题,几乎到达关闭的地步,我们甚至想过将它合并到其他的慈善医社,恰逢遇到卓顺发,他不忍看到百年医社就此关闭,所以挑起了重任,这么多年来他的努力付出我们都看在眼里,做得很好,我们都感谢他。”

7.林得楠问:“两年前在这里,卓顺发先生也举办了新书分享会,当时的对谈人是蔡志礼先生,时隔两年,是否可以谈一下现在的感想?”

蔡志礼教授答:“在高度发展的商业社会,优秀商业家云集的时代,卓顺发先生最让我感动的是:他是一位高度智慧的企业家,我很少看到有人对慈善、对教育、对艺术那么热心与坚持,他不仅担负起善济医社,还以个人名义捐款给其他有需要的组织与个人,卓主席知道搞文化艺术的都很辛苦,就在刚刚,卓主席以他个人名义捐款给当代艺术研究会,很感激他。我也很佩服他的勇气,能在事业顶峰期毅然选择转身,他能够看破世间很多迷惘,选择他自己要走的路,这是他最可贵的地方。两年前主持了卓先生书籍《路》的分享会,当时就觉得这本书,你随手翻开哪一页,都会给你启迪,这就是这本书奇妙之处。”

8.林得楠问:“请张仰兴先生谈一下你的感想!”

张仰兴先生答:“认识卓主席已经有30年了,主席当时是一位高高在上成功的企业家,有幸去到主席家中并点拨我很多,他好像懂得未卜先知似的,他当初的话如今都实现了,包括我未来的道路等等。我一直跟在主席身边,一直在看,看到善济医社如今已经成立了15间分社,真的很不容易,主席真的很辛苦,我们所有的员工都是他一一面试、亲自栽培的,他真的是非常慈悲的慈善家。”

9.观众提问:“您可以解释一下无明和无知吗?另外您可以给我们大家讲解一下,高学历、高知识与善知识的区别吗?”

卓主席答:“善知识有别于高学历高知识多知识,

善知识没有偏见,我是没有很高知识的人,但是我不会去计较,不会迷失,不会无知,我很舍得,不在乎天长地久,只愿曾经拥有。一天救100个人和一天救1000个人,我选后者,所以善济医社有了15间分社,为了帮助更多有需要的贫苦病患,善济送很多礼包,义剪,请老人家看演唱会,游玩等,不用看层次,看境界。”

10.观众提问:“请问一下卓先生,你的家人会支持你这样做慈善吗?在您离开后,会将所有家产捐给善事业吗?会不会担心您离开后,孩子们会出现争财产的问题?”

卓主席答:“我和我太太刚结婚的时候,都是工人,她能体会得到那种需要人帮助的感觉,我时常跟她讲:不忘初心,方得始终,钱用了是财产,留下的是遗产,我不用担心在我离开后我的太太和孩子的生活,我的太太花的不多,我的孩子会赡养我的太太,我不必担心家里的事情,所以我才能专心的做慈善。”

11.吴木兴先生发言:“我认识卓主席已经20几年了,在我看来他是好兄弟,他很慈悲,他会鼓励别人捐钱给善济医社,然后用他个人名义捐钱还回人情,我觉得钱赚来就是要花的,捐给慈善机构,帮助有需要的人,就是花的值得,我也希望我的行为能影响到身边的朋友们,一起为慈善事业贡献力量。”