Message from Chairman Mr. Toh Soon Huat JP, BBM, PVPA

Message from Chairman
Mr. Toh Soon Huat JP, BBM, PVPA
Executive Chairman of Sian Chay Board of Directors
2015 President Volunteerism & Philanthropy Award (PVPA) Winner

Charity is true love because it is sincere, compassionate, grateful, bright, and priceless; charity is a kind of intrinsic value, a kind of emotion, a kind of learning, a kind of self-cultivation. It brings energy to life, and it embodies the value of life. Art originates from culture, from taste, and from the perception of life and beauty. This is an essential talent for every artist, especially for fine arts, and Dr. Tsao Sui-Lan was one of them.

Born in Guangzhou, China, Dr. Tsao Sui-Lan immigrated abroad after 1937 and became a Singapore citizen in 1956. Since childhood, she loved art, studied Chinese strokes and finger paintings for decades. She spent tens of years in Sogetsu School of Ikebana and been awarded the eighth highest-level teacher’s diploma RIJI from International Sogetsu School of Ikebana Institute in Japan. She also won the award from Paris American Academy in France (further art study in Paris). She left the world with pieces of artwork that reflects her exploration of art for many years and also inspires later generations. Although she passed away in 2017, her spirit had not left us half a journey. The path she had explored for future generations deserves our memory forever.

To commemorate the late JCI Senator To’ Puan Dr. Tsao Sui Lan, the Patron of the JCI Singapore, JCI Senator Dato’ Dr. Tan Hian-Tsin and his family supported the establishment of To’ Puan Dr. Tsao Sui Lan Memorial Endowment Fund to support needy patients to seek TCM consultation and medication at Sian Chay. The initial donation of $2 million for the Memorial Endowment Fund is pledged by Dato’ Dr. Tan Hian-Tsin. In addition, Dato’ Dr. Tan Hian-Tsin will also donate the private art collection by To’ Puan Dr. Tsao Sui Lan to Sian Chay for subsequent fundraising for the Memorial Endowment Fund. Let the spirit of philanthropy ignite as To’ Puan Dr. Tsao Sui Lan’s art continues to inspire us.

Singapore’s population is ageing rapidly. The ageing population means that the burden of chronic diseases is increasing and getting more complex. The Traditional Chinese Medicine is a good treatment method. It can reduce the pain and relax the body through traditional methods. The demand will be great in the near future. Sian Chay Medical Institution has always adhered to the five core values: “Forgiveness, Universal Love, Compassion, Gratitude and Blessing”. To support the nation building and promote social harmony, Sian Chay Medical Institution actively promotes its beliefs that “Nation Progresses, Family Prospers; Family Harmony, Successful Endeavours”, and that “Forward with the Nation, Bonding with the People”. Sian Chay supports social charity causes and actively participates in charity activities organized by community organisations, civic groups and community centres to pay back to the society.

It has already attracted many non-Chinese residents to our clinics and has also received the support, guidance, and encouragement from the President of Singapore, Mdm Halimah Yacob. However, it is not easy to sustain the rising medical costs. I would hereby express my gratitude to the Patrons of JCI Singapore, who have been giving us support: especially JCI Senator Dato’ Dr. Tan Hian-Tsin and his family, as well as JCI Senator Dato’ Seri Dr. Derek Goh BBM and his family. Thank you all! Your benevolent deeds and generous donation will inspire Sian Chay to go further on charity!

“Trust, Action, Attitude, and Conduct” form the integrity and virtues of charity work in Sian Chay. We must treat charity as a commitment and treat needy individuals with humility. Try to be in others’ shoes, see our own responsibility from others’ difficulty, learn to tolerate and forgive others and take courage. This is not only a kind of compassion but also self-cultivation that will bring warmth and love to the family.

Charity and philanthropy are two different conceptions, levels and realms. Charity is about likes and dislikes, casual and dispensable. If you want to donate today, you do it. If you don’t want to donate tomorrow, you just don’t do it. This is called charity, casual and dispensable. Philanthropy is qualitative, commitment, compassion, not optional, not about likes or dislikes, only about consistent devotion and gratitude.

In recent years, Sian Chay has actively participated in community and charity activities to promote wellness lifestyle and encourage blissful living. We also offer Mandarin conversational courses for non-Chinese residents. At the same time, we have widely distributed leaflets in four official languages ​​so that all ethnic groups can understand Sian Chay better and enjoy its TCM services. As a result, more non-Chinese residents can understand Chinese culture. We can communicate with each other, interact with each other, share resources, and promote racial harmony, creating a harmonious society. Sian Chay has gained widespread acceptance through the community activities, eg free haircut services for elderly at the branches, free art courses by renowned artists for the community, goodie bags for low income families etc. May I urge everyone to share our charity resources and serve the community via Sian Chay’s charity TCM platform.

On behalf of Sian Chay Medical Institution and its beneficiaries, I would like to take this opportunity to express my sincere gratitude to Dato’ Dr. Tan Hian-Tsin and his family. Let our beneficiaries experience the true affection of the world. Warm their hearts with universal love and kindness!

Wishing everyone good health, career success, and good luck.

Gratitude and blessing!

主席献词 卓顺发先生 JP, BBM, PVPA

主席献词
卓顺发先生 JP, BBM, PVPA
善济医社董事会执行主席
2015 年新加坡总统志愿服务及慈善事业奖得主

慈善是真爱,因为它真诚、慈悲、感恩、光明、无价;慈善是一种内涵、一种感动、一种学习、一种修身养性,它给生命带来动力,它体现生命的价值与意义。而艺术源于修养,艺术源于品味,源于对生活,对美的感知,这是每一个艺术家所必备的天赋,特别对于美术家,督潘曹瑞兰博士正是其中之一。

督潘曹瑞兰博士出生于中国广州市,从1937年后移居国外各地,1956年成为新加坡公民。自幼喜爱艺术,研习中国笔画与指画已数十年,并对日本草月流插花艺术也有数十年之研究,并获得日本国际草月流插花学院第八张最高一级师范理事文凭RIJI,曾获法国巴黎美国艺术学院奖励(到巴黎进修艺术),她留给了世人一幅幅反映着她对多年来对美术探索的作品,也为后来者指引着新的方向,2017年,她离我们远去了,她的灵魂却未曾离开我们半步,她为后人探索出的道路值得我们永远缅怀。

为了纪念已故国际青商会参议员督潘曹瑞兰博士,国际青商会新加坡分会赞助人,拿督陈贤进博士和家人协助善济医社设立“督潘曹瑞兰博士纪念基金”,以帮助需要帮助的民众来我社就诊拿药,而纪念基金启动金为$200万,同时拿督陈贤进博士也将捐赠督潘曹瑞兰博士的私人艺术收藏品供善济医社作为纪念捐赠基金进行后续筹款用途,让慈善如同督潘曹瑞兰博士的艺术般,永远与我们光明同在。

当前我国人口迅速老龄化,人口老龄化意味着慢性疾病带来的负担更大、更复杂,而中医是一个很好的治疗方法,它可以通过传统的方式给民众减轻病痛,救治身体,未来这方面的需求会很大。长期以来,善济医社始终坚持秉着五大文化价值观:“宽容、大爱、慈悲、感恩和祝福”,配合国家建设、创造和谐社会,善济医社积极推动“有国才有家,家和万事兴”、“善与国同在,济与民同心”的宏观信念。鼎力支持福利事业,积极参加各社区、团体、联络所等的慈善活动,回馈社会。这也吸引了不少非华族人士前来看诊,也得到了哈莉玛总统的支持、指导和鼓励。然而要维持日益高涨医药开销,实属不易。在此,特别感恩国际青商会新加坡分会赞助人,他们一直以来都默默的给予我们支持,特别是国际青商会参议员拿督陈贤进博士和家人,还有国际青商会参议员拿督斯里吴木兴博士BBM等等,谢谢你们!你们的仁心善举,慷慨解囊,将激励善济在慈善路上走得更远!

“尊敬的信念、尊敬的方式、尊敬的态度和尊敬的行为”是善济秉持的理念。我们要将慈善当作一份事业,以谦卑的态度对待需要援助的人。只有将心比心,换位思考,在他人的困难上,看到自己的责任,懂得宽容他人,原谅他人,勇于承担,这不仅是一种慈悲,也是一种修身养性,将会给家庭带来温暖、光明与爱。

行善与慈善,是两码事,层次与境界,行善是喜不喜欢,随性,可有可无,今天想捐钱就捐钱,明天不想捐钱就不捐钱,这叫行善,很有那种随性。慈善是定性,承担,慈悲,没得选择,没有喜不喜欢,只有喜舍随喜,只有付出付出再付出,感恩感恩再感恩。

近些年来,善济积极参与社区慈善活动,宣扬健康意识,鼓励保健活动,还计划为非华族同胞开办华文课程,教他们学习中文。同时我们广泛的分发四个语言的宣传单,让他们了解善济,享用善济的服务,让更多的非华族居民了解中华文化;大家彼此交流、互相互动、共享资源,共同提升,促进种族和谐,创造和谐美好社会。并聘请专业的理发师到每个分社定期为老人家剪头发,邀请知名人士义务下社区为民众上美术课等活动,分购物包等等,不仅得到了民众的认可,也得到了各界人士的广泛认同。我再次呼吁大家共享慈善资源,以善济医社慈善中医平台为社会大众服务。

借此机会,我谨代表善济医社全体同仁及所有受惠者,向拿督陈贤进博士以及家人致以诚挚的谢意,请大家让善济、让千万受惠者感受到世间的真情,用大爱、至善,温暖他们的心田!

祝福大家身体健康、工作顺利、吉祥如意。