Chairman’s Statement

Message From Toh Soon Huat, JP

“It’s a long way to go. I’ll look up and down.” This is a quote from the poem “Li Sao” by ancient Chinese poet Qu Yuan. It means the road ahead is very long, but I will spare no effort to continue to discover. When I wrote about this “road”, I was thinking about the road of my life, the road of my dreams, and the road to the future of Sian Chay.

Looking back on my past, the road has been rugged. I have been in a daze at midnight looking at my future, resentful over why life must present me so much suffering? Come to think, this confirms Meng Zi’s words on me: “Before heaven places great responsibilities on someone, he must first suffer mentally and physically, withstand hunger and poverty and face problems in life. After going through all these, he will be sober-minded, determined in his character and increase the capabilities he did not possess”. It is precisely these hardships that made me realize more and more the difficulties of life and have a perspective change to pursue true happiness in my soul – to help those in need obtain simple happiness. These were what I once longed for most but could not get. These are also the wishes in my heart. Hence, the road for me is charity, and now I am on the road of Sian Chay.

When I left the executive chairman post of the Novena Holding Ltd, which is the company I built from scratch and subsequently listed, I sold 31% of the shares and set up Novena Foundation, many people did not understand me. They questioned me “why?” , “Am I crazy?”. Yes, at that time, Novena was listed and was very profitable for the foreseeable future. So why should I do this and engage in philanthropy which I haven’t had experience before? In many people’s eyes, to be in business is to make money but philanthropy means to spend money. This is simply too incomprehensible for many. At that time, I was 49 years old and entering middle age. So why this sudden turn?

The road I am travelling now is a new road in my life, a road that is connected to my heart and peaceful. I had seen enough luxury and dissipation, and experienced untrusting and intrigues during my decades in my business career, but what was the real pursuit deep in my heart?  Many people realize in the end that what they seek is true peace of mind. What they seek is a peaceful road. What is my road of peace? Looking back on my past, I would like to give “all myself” another chance. When I dropped out of school as a young man, my biggest dream was to make money, lighten the burden of my parents, and let my family live a good life. Now, my biggest wish is to use my experience gained, the knowledge I learned and my personal network to help the many vulnerable groups in society and save lives; the more, the better; the sooner, the better. This is my road from now on. This is my own road of discovery.

On this road, I got acquainted with Sian Chay by a very special fate. Sian Chay, founded in 1901, has a history of 118 years here. Through the efforts of many generations of those in Sian Chay, it has brought happiness and health to millions of families. In 2008, at the invitation of my good friend Mr. Teo Kim Chuan, I joined Sian Chay. At that time, Sian Chay had only one small clinic, four employees serving 26 patients every day. If no one stepped forward, it will be the end for Sian Chay. Hence, I decided to join Sian Chay, not only to discover its future, but also for the endless road of philanthropy in my heart.

What is this road of philanthropy? How can I give charity to more people? This is the first and also the biggest problem I encountered when I took over Sian Chay. When everyone knows their gratitude, and when everyone is self-conscious, the world is at peace. With one’s happiness, why not group happiness? With group happiness, why not world happiness. Be content with yourself, sharing happiness with others.The problem facing Sian Chay is to magnify this love and gratitude.

Later, I changed perspective. Combining my best experience in running a company, I realized that an enterprise must be vibrant and have the spirit of enterprise. Isn’t this the same with Sian Chay as a charitable organisation? So, after thoroughly understanding the history of Sian Chay for one hundred years and combining with my personal experience, I crystallized the cultural values of Sian Chay into: “Forgiveness, Universal Love, Compassion, Gratitude and Blessing”. To support the building of our country and create a harmonious society, Sian Chay Medical Institution actively promotes the beliefs of “Nation Progresses. Family Harmony, Successful Endeavours. Forward with the Nation, Bonding with the People.We support charitable causes by actively participating in activities organized by communities, groups and community centres to contribute back to society.

At present, Sian Chay has 15 branches serving more than 1400 patient visits per day. Sian Chay also supports 4 wellness centres drawing tens of thousands of residents every year for all kinds of healthy activities for the body and mind. Many patients and kindhearted people widely endorsed and praised this initiative.

In the past four years (from 2014 to 2018), Sian Chay has served a total of approximately 1.42 million patient visits and dispensed 2.65 million dosages of prescriptions. In the next five years (2019-2023), the estimated number of patient visits will reach 2.5 million and the number of  dosages of prescriptions dispensed will be estimated at 4.8 million.

Moving ahead on this road of charity, we have received the support of our Patron, President Halimah Yacob, our advisers, senior government officials, the general public, government agencies (Housing Development Board, Ministry of Health and People’s Association), citizens’ consultative committees, town councils, the media, various civic groups, entrepreneurs, benevolent individuals, performing artistes, volunteers, directors and colleagues. I would like to express my sincere respect and gratitude to them. For me and my stakeholders, the road travelled has only been a short journey so far. We will continue to travel persistently to let this road of love make inroads into the deeper hearts of more people and brighten their way forward.

主席献词

卓顺发太平绅士寄语

“路漫漫其修远兮,吾将上下而求索。”这是摘自中国屈原的《离骚》,意思是前面的道路啊又远又长,我将(不遗余力地)上上下下追求探索。今天我写这句话,我想的是也是“路”,是我的人生之路,是自己所追求的梦想的路,同样也是善济的未来之路。

回首自己的曾经,路是崎岖的,也曾在午夜里迷茫的望着未来,怨恨过生活为何要给自己这么多的磨难?现在想想这还真印证了孟子的一句话“天将降大任于斯人也,必先苦其心志,劳其筋骨,饿其体肤,空乏其身,行拂乱其所为,所以动心忍性,曾益其所不能……”意思是上天将要降落重大责任在这样的人身上,一定要道先使他的内心痛苦,使他的筋骨劳累,使他经受饥饿,以致肌肤消瘦,使他受贫困之苦,使他做的事颠倒错乱,总不如意,通过那些来使他的内心警觉,使他的性格坚定,增加他不具备的才能。也正是有了这些苦难,才能让我越发的体悟到人生的不易,让我急流勇退,去追求精神上真正的幸福——去帮助那些需要帮助的人,让他们得到平凡的幸福,这些是我曾经最为渴求却无法得到的,这些也是我心中的愿望,这是我的慈善之路,现今是善济的路。

当初我辞去我一手创办的,已经挂牌上市的罗敏娜控股的执行主席,并卖掉31%股权,成立罗敏娜基金时,很多人都不理解,都在问我“为什么?”,“我是不是疯了?”是啊,那个时候罗敏娜已经上市了,在可以预见的未来可以说是财源滚滚,可我为什么要这么做?而且投身到之前并未怎么接触过的慈善事业中来?在很多人看来,商人是赚钱的,慈善是花钱的,这简直太无法理解了。而且那个时候,我已经49岁了,已经快到了知天命之年了。这次蓦然的转身究竟是为了什么?

我在走一条路,自己人生新的道路,是通往我自己内心深处的路,一条平和的路,商场的摸爬滚打几十载,我见过纸醉金迷,也经历过尔虞我诈,心里想要的究竟是什么?很多人到最后才明白,所求的不过内心的真正的平和,所追寻的是一条平和的路,而我的平和之路是什么?回首曾经的经历,我要给所有曾经的“自己”一个机会,年少辍学时,我最大的梦想是赚钱,减轻爸妈的负担,让全家过上好日子。现在,我最大的梦想就是用我的经验、用我学到的知识、用我的人脉关系,去帮忙社会上的许许多多的弱势群体,救人救命,越多越好,越快越好。这是我今后的路,这是我要探索的自己的路。

在探索这条路的同时,我有缘结识了善济,这是一种很特别的缘分。善济成立于1901年,在这片土地上已经有118年的历史,在一代又一代的善济人的努力下,它为百万家庭带来了幸福与安康。2008年的时候在好友张锦泉先生的一再邀请下,我加入了善济,而那个时候的善济,只有一间小分社,4名员工,每天服务26位病人。如果再没有人帮它一把,它的路没了。于是我决定加入善济,不仅仅是为它探索未来的路,同时也是为了自己心中那无尽的慈善之路。

慈善之路是什么?怎么把善给更多的人?这是我接手善济所遇到的第一个难题,也是在最大的一个难题。众生知感恩而天下安宁,众生知自觉而天下太平;独乐乐不如众乐乐,众乐乐不如天下乐。知足常乐,知足自己,常乐大家。而善济所面临的问题,是将这份爱,这份感恩放大。

后来,我转换了一下思路,结合我最擅长的经营公司的经历,我明白了一个企业要有生命力,它必须有企业精神,善济作为一个慈善机构是不是也是这样呢?于是我在彻底了解了善济百年的历史之后,结合我个人的经历,总结出了善济文化价值观:“宽容、大爱、慈悲、感恩和祝福”,配合国家建设、创造和谐社会,善济医社积极推动“有国才有家,家和万事兴”、“善与国同在,济与民同心”的宏观信念。鼎力支持福利事业,积极参加各社区、团体、联络所等的慈善活动,回馈社会。

目前善济拥有15间分社,每天服务大约1400多人次,4间善济资助的康乐中心,每年有上万居民到来进行各种有益身心的康乐活动。在社会上,也得到了病患和爱心人士的普遍认可和赞许。

在过去五年里(2014年至2018年)善济总共服务了约142万看诊人次,发出的药帖有265万帖。未来五年(2019年到2023年)看诊人次估计将高达250万人次,发出的药帖估计为480万帖。

在这条慈善道路的前行中,我们得到了善济医社赞助人哈莉玛总统,医社顾问,政府长官;社会大众、政府机构(建屋发展局、卫生部、人民协会)、公民咨询委员会、市镇理事会、媒体机构和各团体、企业家、善长仁翁、表演艺术家、义工、董事们、同事们的支持,在此对他们表以最真诚的敬意和谢意。对我和所有善济人而言,这条路也不过仅仅走了一小段,我们将继续上下而求索,让这条爱之路通往更多人心灵的深处,照亮他们前行的道路。