Hougang Village Merchants’ Association Contributing to Chairty

Hougang Village Merchants’ Association Contributing to Chairty

Sunday, February 24, 2019

On the evening of February 24th, Hougang Village Merchants’ Association held its Seventh Anniversary Celebration and the Fourth  Inauguration of New Staff Chinese New Year  Gala event  at the 6th Neighbourhood Park right below  Block 686, Hougang Street 61. Mr. Gan Thiam Poh, Member of Parliament for Ang Mo Kio GRC and honorary adviser of the association, served as the guest of honour, and Mr. Mr. Darryl David served as the special guest. At the same time, sponsors from all walks of life, members of the Merchants’ Association and the residents gathered to celebrate the event.

This was the seventh consecutive year that the Hougang Village Merchants’ Association held a series of successful Chinese New Year celebrations, which gained enthusiastic response from the residents.  In order to bring out the festiveatmosphere of the Lunar New Year, Hougang Village Neighbourhood was well decorated with lanterns and lightings during the period. Amongst the more interesting setups were the “Pasar Malam”, Chinese couplets, a giant model of the God of Fortune, a wishing tree, the 12 Zodiac Fortune Archway, 12 Zodiac Lanterns and lanterns depicting racial harmony.

孙嘉和 (PBM) said that the purpose of a series of events was to bring together nearby residents  in order to experience the traditional Chinese festive atmosphere, which not only strengthens the residents’ sense of participation, but also promotes communication and enhancing the harmony between neighbourhoods and the cohesiveness of society.

Since the establishment of the Hougang Village Merchants’ Association, they have adhered to the principle of “From the society, for the society”. The association raises funds for community welfare and public charity organizations every year.

This year, in appreciation of  the support shown by  Novena Foundation and Executive Chairman of Sian Chay Medical Institution, Datuk Seri Toh Soon Huat, JP, the Hougang Village Merchants’ Association prepared a “Da Fu Da Gui” Year of the Pig mascot as an auction item at the gala dinner. The special mascot was won by  Honorary Chairman Mr. 洪维坤, for $10,000. All proceeds were donated to Sian Chay Medical Institution, contributing to charity and helping those in need. The kindness of the donors shared the good faith and strength with Sian Chay.

The first branch of Sian Chay Medical Institution was established in Hougang. There are five branches in the Ang Mo Kio GRC: Hougang Branch, Seng Kang South Branch, Jalan Kayu Branch, Transcab Branch and Yio Chu Kang Branch. The Hougang and Jalan Kayu branches were graced by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong who officiated at the opening ceremony. PM Lee was full of praise for the branches and expressed his full support!

Chairman Toh Soon Huat has always adhered to the core values of “Forgiveness, Universal Love, Compassion, Gratitude and Blessings” and supported the building of state and the creation of a harmonious society. Sian Chay actively advocates the belief of “Nation Progresses, Family Prospers; Family Harmony, Successful Endeavours. Forwarding with the Nation and Bonding with the People.” He supports charity causes by actively participating in activities organized by community groups and community centers to pay forth  to the society. He has always practiced what he preaches and seeks to positively influence the people around him with his own actions. He spreads love to those around him. The power of love shines in everyone’s heart and brings warmth to all people.

Finally, thanks to all the staff of the Hougang Village Merchants’ Association and the benevolent people for their contributions.

后港村商联会献爱心

后港村商联会献爱心

2019年2月24日(星期日)

2月24日,星期日晚,在后港61街第686座组屋前面的第六邻里公园,隆重举办后港村商联会庆祝成立七周年纪念暨第四届新职员就职典礼新春联欢宴会,宏茂桥集选区国会议员暨该会名誉顾问颜添宝先生担任主宾,杰乐先生担任贵宾,同时还有各界赞助商、商联会理事会员们及居民们相聚一堂、同欢共庆,意义非凡。

据悉,今年是后港村商联会连续第七年举办系列迎新春活动,获得了居民们的热烈响应,并取得了圆满的成功。为了增加农历新年的热闹气氛,2019年新春期间,后港村邻里区内早已处处张灯结彩,以新春灯饰、年货市场、对联牌楼、大型财神、许愿树、12生肖运程牌楼、12生肖灯笼及种族和谐灯笼等等。

孙嘉和PBM说,一系列的活动目的,就是让附近的居民们齐聚一堂,共同感受华人传统的节日气氛,这样不仅加强了居民们的参与感,促进了彼此间的沟通,有助于加强邻里之间的和睦相处,也增强了社会的凝聚力。

据了解,后港村商联会自成立以来都秉持取之社会、用之社会的原则,每年都会给社区福利、公益机构筹募资金。

今年,为了感谢罗敏娜基金和善济医社执行主席拿督斯里卓顺发太平绅士的鼎力支持,后港村商联会准备的一尊“大富大贵”猪年吉祥物在宴会上竞标,由名誉主席洪维坤先生以一万元标得,善款全部捐献给善济医社,为慈善献力,帮助到需要帮助的人,他们与善济一起传承善的信仰与力量。

善济医社的第一间分社就设立在后港,宏茂桥集选区共有五间分社,分别是:后港分社,盛港南分社,惹兰加由分社,得运分社和杨厝港分社,而后港分社和惹兰加由分社荣幸得有请到李显龙总理主持开幕仪式,李总理给予了崇高的评价和支持!

长期以来,卓顺发主席始终坚持着:“宽容、大爱、慈悲、感恩和祝福”的五大文化价值观,提倡配合国家建设、创造和谐社会,善济医社积极推动“有国才有家,家和万事兴”、“善与国同在,济与民同心”的宏观信念。鼎力支持福利事业,积极参加各社区、团体、联络所等的慈善活动,回馈社会。一直以来,他自己也身体力行,以自己的行动感染着身边的人,他将爱传播给身边的人,爱的力量也在每个人的心中发光发热给所有的人带去温暖。

最后,感恩后港村商联会全体同仁及善心人士的爱心善举。