The Fourth Book Written by Sian Chay Chairman – Toh Soon Huat Shares his Sentiments on Charity in His Newly Published Book

The Fourth Book Written by Sian Chay Chairman

Toh Soon Huat Shares his Sentiments on Charity in His Newly Published Book

Monday, 19th November 2018

by Zaobao/ Hong Yi Jun

Charity is not just about helping others, but also about leaving a long-lasting memory for oneself.

Toh Soon Huat, Chairman of Sian Chay Medical Institution, published his fourth book “Treasure Life and Gratitude to Life”. On 17th November , Chairman Toh met over 150 readers at the book launch at the National Library and shared the sentiment of his dedication to charity for the last 10 years.

He said, “It does not matter how much you contribute to charity. It does not matter if you support to build a bridge, a school or the establishment of a Sian Chay branch, it does not  matter if your donation is $10 or $100,000, your contribution to the bridge, the school or the Sian Chay branch will be always remembered and the beautiful memory will be preserved for a long time.

Planned to migrate to Australia before taking up chairmanship at Sian Chay.

The book includes what Toh Soon Huat observed, read and learn in his life and work. He hopes to compile his sentiment and experiences into a book as a medium to convey kindness and share the true thoughts of life with more people.

Since he divested his shareholding in Novena Holdings in 2009, Toh Soon Huat devoted himself fulltime to charity work. What many people did not know was that he once thought about leaving everything behind and migrating to Australia. He changed his mind at the last moment because the then Chairman of Sian Chay, Mr Teo Kim Chuan told him that the Board would decide to close down the century-old medical institution if he declined to take over the chairmanship of Sian Chay.

He said, “When I realized that Sian Chay Medical Institution was a platform that could save many lives, I was more convinced in promoting the medical services of Sian Chay and contributing funds. Since then, Sian Chay has become an inherent responsibility on my shoulders. ”

Toh Soon Huat said, “Helping one person is equivalent to helping the whole family.” Sian Chay wants to ease the financial burden of the patients and their family by providing free TCM consultation and low cost medicine for the needy and elderly.

Sian Chay Medical Institution currently has 15 branches, serving over 1,200 patient visits  daily. In the past four years (2014 to 2017), it served a total of 980,000 patient visits and dispensed 1.81 million dosages of prescriptions.

To raise funds for the treatment of low-income patients, Toh Soon Huat organizes exhibitions and concerts by linking education, arts and humanities with charity, so that more people are aware of Sian Chay and are attracted to participate in the charity cause. For example , Sian Chay will hold a charity concert by the world’s top Er Hu Master George Gao at the Esplanade Concert Hall on 25th November .

Toh Soon Huat did not forget to thank many good friends for supporting Sian Chay. He said, “Some Directors and friends at Sian Chay are like my brothers, such as Derek Goh, Teo Ngiang Heng, Ang Chin Koon and etc. They not only support me spiritually, but also donate a lot of money to Sian Chay.”

Among them, Teo Ngiang Heng, CEO of Teo Heng KTV Studio, makes annual donation to Sian Chay regardless of business profitability. Even when his business was in difficulty , Derek Goh still offered to help in whatever way he could . Last year, Toh Soon Huat decided to skip the pledged donation $100,000 by the CK Group because their HQ building caught fire and suffered a big loss of $20,000,000. But Mr Ang Chin Koon ,the Founder of CK Group, insisted that “Do not worry about the fire losses. The donation has been pledged.”

Toh Soon Huat said that it is all about love from these friends and many kindhearted people to support Sian Chay generously and help hundreds of thousands of needy people . “Their kindness and compassio

善济主席第四本著作 – 卓顺发出书分享投身慈善事业感悟

善济主席第四本著作

卓顺发出书分享投身慈善事业感悟

2018年11月19日(星期一)

来自 /联合早报文 /洪亿隽

做善事不只是帮助他人,也给自己留下长久美好的记忆。

善济医社主席卓顺发出版第四本著作《珍惜生命·感恩人生》,前天(17日)在国家图书馆举办新书发布会时,跟现场150多名与会者,分享投身公益10多年的体悟。

他说:“为善不分大小,例如出钱造桥、建学校或是支持建立善济分社,无论捐献的款额是10元还是10万元,日后经过那道桥、那所学校或是那所善济分社,一定会记得曾为这个地方出过力,而且这种美好的记忆长久留存。”

接掌善济之前

曾想过移居澳大利亚

新书集结了卓顺发在生活与工作中所见所闻和所思所想,他希望将自己的感悟以及一些鲜为人知的经历,汇集成书,成为传递善缘的媒介,跟更多人分享对生命真谛的体会。

自2009年脱售罗敏娜家具公司股权后,卓顺发全心全意投入慈善事业。但许多人不知道的是,他曾想过放下一切,移居澳大利亚,要不是时任善济主席张锦泉告诉他,如果他拒绝接掌善济,董事会决定将百年医社关掉,他才改变心意接手营运。

他说:“当我发觉善济医社是一个可以拯救许多生命的平台之后,我就愈发努力去推动善济的医务,出钱出力,善济从此就成为我肩上难以卸下的责任。”

卓顺发说:“帮助一个人,就是帮助受惠者一家人。”善济免费为有需要的年长者提供中医门诊,也把药价压得很低廉,目的就是要减轻病患者和家属的经济负担。

善济医社目前有16家分社,每天服务约1200多人次,过去四年(2014年至2017年)共服务98万看诊人次,施药181万余帖。

为筹募经费,给低收入病患治病,卓顺发通过教育、艺术和人文与慈善挂钩,举办画展和音乐会,让更多人知道善济,吸引更多人加入行善行列。善济将于11月25日在滨海艺术中心音乐厅举办世界顶级二胡大师高韶青的慈善音乐会,就是一个典型的例子。

卓顺发不忘感谢多位好朋友义助善济。他说:“我在善济的一些董事和老友,如吴木兴、张仰兴和洪振群等一班情同手足兄弟,不但在精神上支持我,也捐献了不少钱给善济。”

其中,张兴卡拉OK老板张仰兴,不管生意好坏,每年都拨出一笔钱捐给善济,吴木兴即使是业务不好,也常常主动来问他,需要帮忙多少;去年公司总部大厦失火、损失了2000万元的CK集团创办人洪振群,他特地主动免去他原本承诺的10万元捐款,但洪振群却十分坚持地对他说“火灾归火灾,捐钱归捐钱”。

卓顺发说,这些好友和许多善心人士,慷慨解囊支持善济,帮助他们许许多多不认识的弱势同胞,全都是为了爱。“他们仁心仁德,最让我感动,也最让我欣慰。”