Sian Chay Bonding with Love

Sian Chay Bonding with Love
Sunday, 7th July 2019
Nation Progresses, Family Prospers. Family Harmony, Successful Endeavours. Forward with the Nation, Bonding with the People.
At 7:00 pm on July 7th, the 118-year-old Sian Chay Medical Institution hosted the Inaugural TV Charity Show, “Sian Chay Bonding with Love” at MES Theatre at Mediacorp. The Guest of Honour was President Halimah Yacob, Patron of Sian Chay Medical Institution. Other VIP guests of the charity show included Mr. Mohammed Abdullah Allabshee, Mr Teo Set Luck, MP for Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC, Mr Henry Kwek, MP for Nee Soon GRC, Mr Lee Hong Chuang BBM, Adviser to Hougang Grassroots Organisations, Mr Qiu Yuanxing, Counsellor and Consul General of Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in the Republic of Singapore, Chairman of the Charities Council Dr. Gerard Ee PJG, BBM, PBM, Chairman of the Traditional Chinese Medicine Practitioners Board Dr Yu-Foo Yee Shoon JP, Chairman of the Community Chest Mr Philip Tan PJG, JP, BBM(L), BBM, PBM and his wife, Commissioner of Charities Dr Ang Hak Seng and his wife, CEO of the National Council of Social Services Mr. Sim Gim Guan, PPA (P), PPA (P)(T), Vice Chairman of the Pei Hwa Foundation, Mr Ang Mong Seng BBM and his wife, Chairman of the Singapore Table Tennis Association, Ms. Ellen Lee JP, PBM, Chairman of Nam Hwa Opera Limited Mr. Toh Lim Mok JP, BBM(L), Ms. Tham Loke Kheng, CEO of Mediacorp and Mr Toh Soon Huat JP, BBM, PBM, PVPA, Chairman of Sian Chay Medical Institution, Honorary Chairmen and Directors of Sian Chay Medical Institution also participated in the event.

Since I started volunteering with Sian Chay a decade ago, the journey has been nothing short of enriching and, most important of all, a humbling experience.

I am enamoured of the core values: forgiveness, compassion, universal love, gratitude and blessing. The values enable us to solve problems including, but not limited to, health issues and resolving conflicts between one another. In addition, I am awestruck by the belief that as the “nation progresses, the family prospers; when there is family harmony, it will lead to successful endeavours. As we move forward with the nation, a strong bond will be forged with the people”.
It is our belief that the wealthy should always seek to help the less fortunate while the capable must lend a helping hand to the vulnerable.
While it took me three months to put together “Sian Chay Bonding With Love Charity Show”, it is the decade-long of involvement in charity work and my relentless effort in upgrading the charitable organisation so as to help even more patients that have humbled me. I am grateful to the team of colleagues that have worked hard with me, and I am thankful to the public for supporting the charitable cause.
The curtain has come down on the fundraising variety show, but I wish to highlight that the event was not just an ordinary variety show. It is educational, it has a deeper meaning to it, and it is a brightened path for the less fortunate.
Charity should not be frowned upon; we should all embrace charity with joy! This is the reason why I tend to spend much time contemplating how to make more people understand charity, what is light of hope, what is compassion, and how we should pay back to society so as to help the poor and needy.
I would like to take this opportunity to pay a special tribute to the charitable people who have supported this event, the sponsors, the artistes, everyone else involved in this fundraising event, my colleagues, my directors and, last but not least, the general public for all your generous support!
We will strive to do even better, improve ourselves and provide even more for the people who need our assistance!

In the performances, a total of 210 participants behind the scene were doing a good job. The Charity ambassadors of Sian Chay, Lee Wei Song and Lee Si Song, who composed the Sian Chay’s theme song, ‘Joy of Sian Chay’ and sang with Zoe Tay, Chen Han Wei, Desmond Tan, Jay Lim and 40 students; after that the Malay diva Rahima Rahim did a full-fledged vocal performance. She first used the Malay song “Burung Kakak Tua” to sizzle the atmosphere. Later, when she appeared on the stage, she won over the audience with a Chinese classic “Wang Zhaojun”. The Charity Show reached its climax. It is full of enthusiasm, Chinese lyrics is clear, the fast pace of the second half of the song is also difficult to beat her, amazing, admirable; new generation Mediacorp  beautiful artistes: Mei Xin, Fang Rong, Jasmine Sim, Denise Tan and Indian dance group presents world-class Indian dance plus the Bollywood Dance performed by Jamila Wang and her daughter; Vincent Ng and Singapore National World Taijiquan champion He Lingying, 2017 East Asian Games double gold winner Lin Siwei, led the Singapore Martial Arts and Lions Troupe and the 90 performers of Dance Ensemble brought together the martial arts dance “Dance Wushu Shining on People”; the jazz suites performed by Jimmy Ye, Joanna Dong, Hong Shaoxuan and Sebastian Tan also won a lot of audience applause. Support, four singers sang Liang Wenfu’s many creations, including “Beginning”, “Worry”, “Water Words”, “Like You”, etc., and adapted the song into a jazz style, which is refreshing;  Appreciated by the audience, the lyrics conveyed the five core values of Sian Chay Medical Institution in different dialects. Performers Marcus Chen, Richard Low, Zhu Hou Ren, Mark Lee, Henry Thia and Henry Heng gave their best performances and won a lot of applause.

In addition to the local artistes  contributing to charity, overseas performance guests spare no efforts to contribute to charity, including love song veterans Fish Leong, Judy Ongg, Daniel Lo, Anna Lin, Ricky Hsiao and so on.
Jackie Chan, Lin Junjie, Stefanie Sun, and Liu Jiachang were unable to attend the charity show, but they recorded a video message calling for support for Sian Chay.
The Charity Show raised funds through sponsorships and hotline donations raising a total of $8.46 million. A total of 1,300 people attended the Charity Show, and the viewership of live telecast was over 800,000.
If you missed the wonderful live telecast, you can watch the repeat show on Channel 8 on this Sunday 14th July from 3:30 pm to 6:30 pm, so don’t miss it.
The Sian Chay Medical Institution donation hotlines are open to the public from 15th May to 31st July (open 24 hours):
$10 – 1900 112 0808
$30 – 1900 112 1818
$50 – 1900 112 2828
$100- 1900 112 3838
Donations over $100 can be made to 6386 6868  Monday to Sunday: 9am to 6pm).
Since the establishment, Sian Chay Medical Institution, is already 118 years old today. Since 2008, Mr. Toh Soon Huat has been serving as the Chairman of the Sian Chay Medical Institution. With the support of the public and the cooperation of the board and team, the Institution has been revitalized. The new vitality has enabled the medical institution to develop into a charity with 15 branches, serving more than 1,400 patients a day, and supported four Wellness centres, with 10,000  residents attending a variety of recreational activities beneficial to the body and mind each year. Sian Chay has also been widely recognized and praised by patients and caring people
in society.
In the past five years (2014 to 2018), Sian Chay has served a total of 1.42 million patient visits and dispensed 2.65 million dosages of prescription. In the next five years (2019 to 2023), the number of patient visits is estimated at 2.5 million, and the number of prescription dosages is estimated at 4.8 million.
In 2018, the number of Pioneer Generation patient visits was 217,151 compared with 185,143 in 2016, an increase of 32,008 patient visits or an increase of 17.29%. Since the establishment of Pioneer Generation Medical Fund in 2016 till 31st December 2018, (3 years ) a total of 538,287 people benefited from the Pioneer Generation Medical Fund.
In 2018, the 15 branches of Sian Chay served 37,602 patients and a total of 440,342 patient visits, and dispensed 834,866 prescription dosages.
In 2008, there were only 4 employees of Sian Chay Medical Institution that served an average of over 20 patients daily at 610 Geylang main branch. As at March 2019, Sian Chay Medical Institution has grown to 120 employees, serving  over 1,400 patients daily .
In mid-2020, Sian Chay will add a new branch to serve residents in Chua Chu Kang. (Address: Blk 153 Jalan Teck Whye Sinapore 680153)
We should “donate regardless of the amount,” and $10 donation will benefit a sick person from a low-income family to receive free consultation and medicine at Sian Chay Medical Institution; helping a person is equivalent to helping a family. Because anyone from a big family falls sick, the life and mood of the family will be greatly affected and impacted. Helping a family brings joy and happiness to everyone around him. We hope that by helping patients to get relieved from suffering and pain, and foster happy, and healthy families and a harmonious society, everyone will feel bright vision because they live in this country.
Since its establishment,  Sian Chay Medical Institution has  actively participated in community charity activities, promoted health awareness, encouraged healthy lifestyle activities, and allowed more non-Chinese residents to understand Chinese culture; everyone connecting, enhancing friendship, interacting with each other, and sharing resources, promote racial harmony and love for the people. For example, Mother’s Day, Chinese New Year, Dragon Boat Festival and Mid-Autumn Festival celebrations, we invited senior citizens and residents to watch performances, distributed more than 20,000 walking aid umbrellas to the elderly, and shared over 5,000
 rice dumplings. Nearly 8,000 seniors and low income families were invited to attend concerts. Part-time hair stylists and volunteers were recruited to cut hair for the elderly at the branches, invited celebrities to conduct pro bono art classes for the community and other activities, distributed goodie bags, distributed over 10,000 daily necessities packages to low-income  families staying in rented flats as well as paying attention to the physical and mental health of senior citizens.
Sian Chay also actively engages the younger generation to co-operate with Sian Chay to do good deeds, encourages more people to participate in good deeds, organizes volunteer teams, and accepts the participation of all benevolent people, so that Sian Chay can play a greater mutual assistance role. It also assists new immigrants to successfully integrate into the local culture.
All along, Sian Chay actively promotes the five core values ​​of “forgiveness, universal love, compassion, gratitude and blessing” and upholds the spirit of charity: trust, action, attitude, and conduct form the integrity and virtues of charity work. At the same time, this spirit is also integrated into the daily code conduct of the medical institution.  The socially disadvantaged groups are taken care of by those who have money contributing funds, while those who have ability can give efforts. Our belief is “Nation Progresses, Family Prospers. Family Harmony, Successful Endeavours. Forward with the Nation, Bonding with the People” . This will make  society more and more beautiful.”
Sian Chay Medical Institution
Social Enterprise Societal Management Social Service
We look forward to the benevolent people from all walks of life to help Sian Chay and then expand the medical service to serve the public. Looking forward to working together and be grateful!

善济全民爱心夜 爱的夜晚星空璀璨

善济全民爱心夜 爱的夜晚星空璀璨

2019年7月7日(星期日)
有国才有家,家和万事兴。善与国同在,济与民同心。

 7月7日晚7点,有118年历史的 善济医社首次举办电视筹款《善济全民爱心夜》电视筹款在新传媒礼堂如约举行,善济医社赞助人哈莉玛总统担任了此次活动的主宾,总统夫婿穆罕默德先生、白沙—榜鹅集选区国会议员张思乐先生、义顺集选区国会议员郭献川先生、后港区基层组织顾问李宏状先生BBM、中华人民共和国驻新加坡共和国大使馆参赞兼总领事邱元兴先生、慈善理事会主席余福金博士PJG, BBM, PBM、中医管理委员会主席符喜泉博士、公益金主席陈永祥太平绅士PJG, JP, BBM(L), BBM, PBM伉俪、慈善总监洪合成博士伉俪、国家福利理事会(福利会)执行理事长沈锦源先生PPA(P), PPA(P)(T)、培华基金副主席洪茂诚BBM伉俪、新加坡乒乓总会会长李玉云律师太平绅士JP, PBM、南华潮剧社主席卓林茂先生太平绅士JP, BBM(L)、新传媒总裁谭乐琼女士、善济医社主席卓顺发先生太平绅士JP, BBM, PBM, PVPA、善济医社荣誉主席、董事等也参加了此次活动。

     卓顺发主席分享说:“在善济做义工已经10年了,学了很多东西,也感触很多。我很喜欢善济的文化价值观:宽容、慈悲、大爱、感恩、祝福。 其实,宽容、慈悲、大爱可以解决很多问题,包括身心的健康,人与人之间的冲突。我也很欣赏有国才有家,家和万事兴,善与国同在,济与民同心。有钱的人应该帮助贫穷的人,有能力的人应该帮助弱小的人。

   我做这场电视筹款花了三个月的时间,其实,不是三个月的问题,是我这10年来的心得,考验和提升,我一直在改变自己,感恩病人让我提升,我很感谢同事对我的帮助,我也很感恩大众对我的支持。

   今天这场电视筹款大家都很开心,其实它不是电视筹款,它是一种教育,它是一种内涵,它是一种光明。
  讲到慈善,慈善不用愁眉苦脸,慈善应该开开心心的去付出,我在做一件事情的时候,我会思考很久很久,怎样让更多人了解慈善,了解光明,了解慈悲,让更多的人做慈善,共襄盛举,光明同行,服务于社会大众,大家站出来,去帮助贫穷的人。

    在此,我要特别感谢支持电视筹款的善长仁翁,赞助商家,台前幕后的工作人员,艺人,我的同事,我的董事,还有社会大众。我们会再接再厉,鼓励、提升自己,为社会的弱势群体提供更好的服务。

   在演出环节,共有210位台前幕后演员共襄善举。善济爱心大使李伟菘、李偲菘创作并联合郑惠玉、陈汉玮、陈泂江、林俊杰 (Jay Lim)及40位学生为大家带来善济医社主题曲——《为善济乐》;马来殿堂级歌后拉希玛拉辛以扎实的唱功博得满堂彩,她先以马来歌曲”Burung Kakak Tua”炒热气氛,之后再出场时以一曲经典的《王昭君》征服观众的心,捐款电话通数节节攀升。他不但中气十足,中文咬字清晰,歌曲后半段的快节奏也难不倒她,令人惊艳,叫人佩服;新传媒新生代美女艺人: 美心、芳榕、沈家玉、陈楚寰和印度舞群呈献世界级的印度舞加上由王海青Jamila母女表演的印度肚皮舞大型舞蹈表演 (Bollywood Dance);翁清海和新加坡国手世界太极拳冠军何凌莹、2017东运会双金得主林思韦,带领新加坡武术龙狮总会和聚舞坊的9090位表演嘉宾一同为大家带来了武术舞蹈《舞武生辉耀人心》;由叶良俊、董姿彦、洪邵轩和陈瑞彪表演的爵士组曲也获得不少观众支持,四名歌手演唱梁文福的多首创作,包括《初涉》《担心》《水的话》《喜欢你》等,并将歌曲改编成爵士风格,让人耳目一新;由陈建斌创作的方言饶舌也同样受观众青睐,歌词将善济医社的五大信念以不同的方言传达,表演者陈建斌、刘谦益、朱厚任、李国煌、程旭辉和王利秦卖力演出,赢得不少掌声。

除了本地艺人为慈善献力,海外表演嘉宾也不遗余力为慈善献力,包括情歌天后梁静茹、翁倩玉、罗时丰、林淑容、萧煌奇等。

成龙、林俊杰、孙燕姿、刘家昌无法出席晚会,但他们录制了视频呼吁大家支持善济。

晚会通过赞助、现场直播等形式筹集善款,共筹得846万元。晚会现场一共大约有1300人共襄盛举,现场直播收视人次高达80多万。
如果大家错过了精彩的直播,可以在本周日(7月14日)下午3点半到6点半继续关注8频道重播,精彩不容错过。
善济医社捐款热线从5月15日至7月31日(24小时)开放给公众拨打热线:
$10 – 1900 112 0808
$30 – 1900 112 1818
$50 – 1900 112 2828
$100- 1900 112 3838
$100元以上捐款可拨打6386 6868,(热线开放星期一至星期日:早上9点至下午6点)。
善济医社成立至今已有118年,自2008年卓顺发先生担任善济医社的主席以来,在社会大众的支持和董事部及团队的努力合作下,让这家百年善社焕发出了新的生命力,使得这家医社在短短的几年间发展成了拥有15间分社,每天服务大约1400多人次的慈善机构,4间善济资助的康乐中心,每年有上万居民到来进行各种有益身心的康乐活动。在社会上,也得到了病患和爱心人士的普遍认可和赞许。
在过去五年里(2014年至2018年)善济总共服务了约142万看诊人次,发出的药帖有265万帖。未来五年(2019年到2023年)看诊人次估计将高达250万人次,发出的药帖估计为480万帖。
2018年的建国一代看诊人次217,151对比2017年的建国一代看诊人次185,143,增加了32,008,增加了(17.29%)。建国一代医疗基金设立至2018 年12月31日,(2016至2018年)3年共有538,287人次建国一代年长者受益。
2018年善济15间分社服务了37,602个人,共服务440,342看诊人次,发出834,866施药贴数。
2008年时善济医社只有4名员工在610芽笼总社每天平均服务20多位病人。截至2019年3月,善济医社已发展到如今共有120位员工,每天服务大约1400多人次。
2020年中旬,善济将增设多一间分社在蔡厝港服务社区居民。(地址:Blk 153 Jalan Teck Whye Sinapore 680153)
我们应“不因善小而不为”,捐$10元钱就可以惠及来自低收入家庭的一个病患者人次到善济医社问诊、拿药完全免费;帮助一个人就等于帮助了一个家庭,因为在一个大家庭里任何一个人生病,一家人的生活与心情都会受到极大的影响及波动。帮助一个家庭就会给他身边所有的人带来幸福与快乐。我们希望通过帮助病人离苦得乐、解除病痛,创造幸福快乐健康的家庭,和谐的社会,让每个人因为生活在这个国家而感到光明。
自善济医社创立以来,善济医社积极参与社区慈善活动,宣扬健康意识,鼓励保健活动,让更多的非华族居民了解中华文化;大家彼此交流、增进友谊、互相互动、共享资源,共同提升,促进种族和谐,爱国爱民.例如母亲节、春节、端午节和中秋节的庆祝活动、邀请乐龄人士及居民看演出,向老人发放 2万多把拐杖雨伞,分享 5,000 多粒粽子给看诊者以及低收入家庭,邀请近8,000位年长者出席多场音乐会。并聘请兼职理发师和义工到分社为老人家剪头发,邀请知名人士义务去社区为民众上美术课程等活动,分购物包,向低收入租房家庭发放1万多份日用品礼包等等。关注乐龄人士的身心灵健康。
善济还积极提携年轻一代与善济的共襄盛举,习惯行善,也鼓励更多人士参与行善,多次组织义工团队,也接纳所有善心人士的参与,让善可以发挥更大的互助能力,同时还协助新移民圆满地融入本地文化。
一直以来,善济积极弘扬“宽容、大爱、慈悲、感恩和祝福”的五大文化价值观,秉承着慈善精神:尊敬的信念、尊敬的方式、尊敬的态度、尊敬的行为,是慈善最好的尊重基础。同时将这种精神也融入到医社所有人的日常行为中来,推行“取之社会,用之社会。照顾社会弱势群体,有钱出钱有力出力,大家尽心尽力,为慈善献一份力。”的信念,因为我们知道“有国才有家,家和才万事兴,只有善与国同在,济与民同心,社会才会越来越美好,”
善济医社 社会企业 社会经营 服务社会
期待社会各界善心人士协助善济,再拓展医社为社会大众服务宗旨,期待大家一起共襄善举,感恩!