Sian Chay Medical Institution delivers a We Care essentials pack to the residents

Sian Chay Medical Institution delivers a We Care essentials pack to the residents

Friday, 31 August 2018

On 31 August , Sian Chay Medical Institution organized the “Care and Share ” Gift Pack distribution at 610 Geylang Main branch. The care and share event was supported by 玉封靈善壇.

玉封靈善壇 is dedicated to caring for the needy people just like Sian Chay. This event started because they were inspired by Sian Chay for providing free Chinese traditional medicine consultation and low-cost treatment for the needy regardless of race, religion or nationality for over a century. They donated 40 gift packs for the patients.

At 10 am, Vice Chairman Dr. Simon Keak Lai Heng and Director Mr. Anthony Aiw, begun to distribute gift packs to those beneficiaries who received waiver from medical expenses at Geylang Main Branch. They were all from low-income families, financially needy and elderly residents. They received waiver of medical expenses through recommendation by physicians at Geylang branch or self-applications by themselves. The event benefited a total of 84 patients islandwide.

One of the recipients of the gift pack, Mdm Huang Yu Yun said, “I live alone. My children are not able to take good care of me after they moved out. I am very grateful to the Sian Chay Whampoa Branch for looking after me.” Another 35-year-old patient dropped by Sian Chay HQ with his mother. His mother shared that her son had had convulsion since very young age, and could not take care of himself. She had to look after him for more than 30 years. The mother was once so desperate that she even thought about taking his son to jump off the building because of too much pressure in life. “The medical charge used to be over $80 for a TCM consultation in Chinatown, which we could hardly afford. Fortunately, a friend introduced Sian Chay to us and we were lucky enough to have the medical expenses waived. We are so grateful to Sian Chay for the help to my son and my family.”

Ms. Wang said, “I am sorry I am late. I just finished my tuina.” Ms. Wang’s husband suffered a stroke at the age of 60. The condition of her family was extremely difficult. She had to keep working while taking care of her husband. She often had a backache and having sleeping problem at night. After her husband started to visit Sian Chay clinic for two years, he has been able to see the doctor on foot by himself instead of on a wheelchair. The effect of the treatment is remarkable. As a result, she is very grateful to Sian Chay. When Sian Chay staff handed the gift pack to her, she repeatedly bowed saying thanks.

Sian Chay Medical Institution delivered care and love to residents through this activity. Meanwhile, it promotes the five core values through its own actions, which are “Forgiveness, Universal Love, Compassion, Gratitude and Blessing”. Through active participation in the charity events, Sian Chay is also practicing its social responsibility raised by Chairman Toh Soon Huat, which is “From the society, For the society”, and taking care of the vulnerable groups, with labor or money. We wish everyone could work together to contribute to charity cause with one’s own effort. Nation Progresses, Family Prospers; Family Harmony, Successful Endeavours. Forwards with the Nation, Bonding with the People. It will make a better society . This is not only the commitment of Sian Chay, but also the inherent responsibility and obligation of every Singaporean. Let’s move forward and work together for a better Singapore.

善济医社为民众送上贴心礼包

善济医社为民众送上贴心礼包

8月31日(星期五)

8月31日,善济医社在610芽笼总社举办《<关怀与分享>分送礼包》活动,此次分享活动得到了玉封靈善壇的支持。

玉封靈善壇是和善济一样为众生谋求福利,此次活动源于他们有感善济医社百年如一日、不分种族,宗教与国籍持续地为贫困大众提供免费的中医诊断与低收费的治疗服务,无私奉献的善举,他们特赞助了40份基本食物礼包予经济较困难的病患分享。

上午10时正,副主席郭来兴先生和姚再生董事开始分发礼包给那些在芽笼总社豁免医药费用的受益者。他们都是来自低收入家庭、经济较困难的年长者等,他们通过各分社医师推荐或递交申请免费医药治疗病患。此次活动中,使得全岛84位病患受益。

领取礼包的其中有位黄玉云阿姨说:“我一个人住,孩子搬出去住也照顾不到彼此,很感谢善济黄埔分社对我的照顾。另外一位35岁的看诊者跟随妈妈来到总部,她的母亲分享说儿子从小惊风,生活不能自理,照顾了他30多年,曾经都想过要带儿子去跳楼,生活压力太大了,以前在牛车水一间中医看一次需要80多元,哪里负担得起,幸好朋友介绍了善济医社,我们还申请到了免费,感恩善济对儿子和家人的帮助”。

汪女士说:“不好意思我迟到了,刚刚推拿完。”汪女士的丈夫60多岁中风,家中条件极为艰难,她既要上班又要照顾丈夫,常常腰酸背痛,晚上睡不着,先生在善济看了二年多,从坐轮椅到可以走路自己来看诊,效果十分显著,她也十分感激善济。当工作人员将礼包送给她时,她一再鞠躬道谢。

通过此次活动,善济医社将善济的关爱传递给了民众,同时通过自身的行动弘扬着善济五大文化价值观:宽容、大爱、慈悲、感恩和祝福。善济医社也正通过每一次参与组织慈善活动,践行着卓顺发主席所弘扬的善济社会责任:取之社会,用之社会。照顾社会弱势群体,有钱出钱、有力出力,大家尽心尽力,为慈善献一份力。有国才有家,家和才万事兴,只有善与国同在,济与民同心社会才会越来越美好,这不仅是善济医社的担当,这同时也是每一个新加坡人不可推卸的责任与义务,我们共同前进,为了新加坡更加美好的未来努力!