Sian Chay Love D’ Charity Dinner 2018 – Speech by the Chairman of the Organising Committee Ms Yen Chon

Sian Chay Love D’ Charity Dinner 2018

Speech by the Chairman of the Organising Committee

Ms Yen Chong

Mr. Heng Chee How, Senior Minister of State for Defence,

Mr Toh Soon Huat BBM, Chairman of Sian Chay Medical Institution,

Ladies and Gentlemen,

Good Evening!

I am very glad to be a part of the Sian Chay Charity Dinner again and honoured to be able to participate as the Organising Committee Chairman this year. Sian Chay Medical Institution is a charitable medical organisation with over 100 years of history. It has shown care to the less fortunate thanks to the hard work of generations of Sian Chay staff who have always been at the frontline of service. To them, there is no class divide when it comes to life, instead approaching it with empathy and fairness.

Sian Chay Medical Institution has set up 15 branches within a short span of six years. It serves approximately 1,200 patients daily and its annual operation expenditure crosses S$6 million. Sian Chay also supports four Wellness Centres in Sengkang South, Boon Lay, Marsiling and Yio Chu Kang, visited by 10,000 residents yearly for a variety of physical and mental wellness activities. The cost to sustain these daily operations is no small figure. Fortunately, Sian Chay Medical Institution receives support from kind-hearted individuals, businesses and community leaders who contribute both money and effort all these years.

I am very grateful to Chairman Toh and Dr. Yap Seng Teck for giving me such an opportunity. Through my participation in Sian Chay, I am able to give back to society. At work, I develop residential and commercial projects for the people. Having a country where everyone can enjoy their safe homes is even more important to me. Over the years we have nurtured trusted partnerships and cooperated with our partners to transform Singapore’s traditional residential concept into smart homes. I hope to also bring new supporters and partners to Sian Chay. If we work hard together, we can do more and better.

 

Sian Chay is not just a platform for me to care for those who need help. I can also use this platform to learn more about Sian Chay and understand our beneficiaries, their hopes and wants. Only in this way can everything that I do in Sian Chay help them achieve what they hope and want.

I particularly like the idea of “respectful trust, respectful approach, respectful attitude and respectful conduct” proposed by Chairman Toh. I understand that to “Sian Chay” should be a habit, a humbling behaviour, one that gives and contributes without asking for a reward. Helping others is a virtue and a process of self-improvement. It allows you to become content and at peace – life will then be different. I believe that, as businessmen, we should shoulder more social responsibilities as society is where businesses grow. We need to know how to give back to society and help the less fortunate.

Finally, let me thank all social organisations and everyone who have supported Sian Chay. Thank you for your generosity and tremendous support! I am grateful to the leaders and peers in Sian Chay Medical Institution for their understanding and assistance and the Organising Committee for their work. I wish the dinner a complete success!

I wish you all good health, success and happiness in life. Thank you all!

善爱善济慈善筹款晚会2018 – 筹委会主席献词 张郦缘女士

善爱善济慈善筹款晚会2018

筹委会主席献词

张郦缘女士

尊敬的国防部高级政务部长王志豪先生,善济医社义务执行主席卓顺发太平绅士,女士们、先生们,大家好!

很高兴又一次参加善济的慈善晚会,这次担任筹委会主席,让我感到莫大的荣幸。善济医社是一家拥有百年历史的慈善医社,百年来在一代又一代的善济人共同努力下,他们时时刻刻站在了慈善的第一线,为广大贫困民众奉献爱心。在他们看来,生命本就没有高低贵贱之分,有的只是一颗需要平等相待的大爱同理心。

善济医社在短短的6年时间开办了15间分社,每日看诊人数约达1200人,运营费用每年将达到600多万新元。此外,善济在盛港南、文礼、马西岭和杨厝港也资助了4间康乐中心,每年有上万居民来到中心进行各种有益身心的康乐活动。这些日常运营维持经费是一笔庞大的数目,欣慰的是,在社会上的善心人士、企业家、社团领袖支持下,大家常年做全职义工,出钱出力的奉献精神,多年来一直对善济鼎力相助。

我非常感谢卓主席和叶成德博士给我这样一个机会,通过我在善济的参与,让我为回报我们的社会也出了一份力。在工作中,我所做的是为人们开发住宅和商业项目。所以拥有一个大家可以享受家园的安稳的国家,对我来说是更加重要的。这些年我们信任合作伙伴关系,与合作伙伴一起将新加坡的传统住宅概念转变为智慧化住宅。这也是我希望为善济带来新的支持者和合作伙伴,这样共同努力,才能做的更多更好。

善济对我而言,不仅仅是一个让我可以为那些需要帮助的人奉献爱心的平台,同时也是我借助这个平台,去更深刻的了解善济,了解那些需要帮助的人们,心中所想的地方,只有这样我在善济所做的每一件事都可以将它落在了实处,落在他们心上。

我特别喜欢卓主席提出的“尊敬的信念、尊敬的方式、尊敬的态度、尊敬的行为”的理念,因为我明白,“善济”应该是一种习惯,一种謙卑意识的行为,付出与奉献应该不求回报的,帮助别人是一种美德,帮助别人的同时也是自我“提升心修”的一个过程,让心更加的平和,安定,自足,人生也将从此而与众不同。我认为:我们企业家肩负着更多的社会责任,社会是企业生长的土壤,企业家更要懂得去回报社会,扶贫济困。

最后,让我再次感谢所有支持善济的社会团体和各界人士,感恩大家慷慨解囊,大力支持!感谢善济医社领导同仁的倾情相助,感谢幕后筹委会委员们的齐心合力,预祝晚会圆满成功!

祝福大家身体安康、工作顺利、生活和乐。谢谢大家!