Singapore Philanthropist Toh Soon Huat Talking About the Development of Century Old Sian Chay Medical Institution

Located near the equator, and a famous garden city, the island country of Singapore attracts people from all over the world for its tropical beauty, clean environment, strong security, and shopping paradise

Singapore’s economy is well developed, and its standard of prices and consumption are also relatively high. Among them, cost of medical treatment and medication becomes an affordability issue for some of the elderly and low-income people. Sian Chay Medical Institution, a well-known self-organized charity in Singapore was formed 119 years when China immigrants came to Singapore, then known as “Nanyang”, helping the poor by giving clothes and medicine to them regardless of race, religion, status or nationality.  Its mission is to benefit the people, by providing free or low-cost TCM consultation, tuina and acupuncture services.

In 2008, Sian Chay Medical Institution had difficulty sustaining its operation and was on the verge of shutting down. Mr. Teo Kim Chuan, who led Sian Chay Medical Institution then, had to persuade Mr Toh Soon Huat four times before he successfully persuaded him to take over the chairmanship of Sian Chay Medical Institution.   Sian Chay Medical Institution successfully revived and thrived.

Sian Chay Medical Institution is a Social Enterprise under Societal Management for Social Service. Sian Chay Medical Institution has 15 branches islandwide, serving about 1400 patients daily, and operates and sponsors 4 wellness centres which organizes many diverse meaningful recreational activities for many residents every year. Sian Chay receives appreciation and praise from patients and benevolent people of the society.

Free consultation is provided for low-income families and the elderly. The elderly aged from 60 to 65 only pay $1.50 for a day’s medicine. The Pioneer Generation receive free TCM consultation and medication. This is to thank the Pioneer Generation for their contributions and sacrifice for the country. Those who need special assistance can also apply for free TCM consultation and medication.

Sian Chay Medical Institution not only provides free TCM consultation and medication, but also organizes free Lunar New Year, Mother’s Day, Dragon Boat Festival and Mid-Autumn Festival activities. Sian Chay ferry senior citizens and residents to watch sponsored concert performances. The poor elderly cannot afford to spend money on entertainment, and they enjoy watching these performances. Sian Chay also distributed 20,000 walking aid umbrellas to the elderly, given away more than 5000 rice dumpling and 10,000 boxes of moon cakes to patients and low-income families. More than 8000 elderly people were invited to enjoy concert performances. Part-time hairdressers and volunteers were engaged to come to our branches to give free haircut to the elderly. Well-known professionals were invited to give art classes, music classes and other activities to the community.  Sian Chay also distributed more than 10,000 goodie bags containing daily necessities to low-income families living in rental flats to care for their physical and mental health.

On Mother’s Day last year, under the leadership of Chairman Toh Soon Huat, Sian Chay Medical Institution and Singapore SPA BSFIT launched a Mother’s Day flower giveaway event on an unprecedented scale. On that day, 217,600 carnations were given away to warm mothers with 217,600 well-wishes. Seeing their happy smiles was very touching and warm. Chairman Toh Soon Huat advocates that children all over the world should be grateful and care for their mothers and give compassion to loved ones and people in need. The Mother’s Day event received attention and praise across the entire spectrum of the society, and also broke the Guinness world record witnessed by the official of Guinness Book of Records.

In view of these, we would like to thank the platform provided by Sian Chay and Chairman Toh Soon Huat JP. Under his leadership, all can feel the warmth provided by society and humanity.

A reporter came to Sian Chay Medical Institution and saw a continuous flow of patients seeking medical treatment.  She managed to interview many patients. She asked one of them, an elderly patient: “how did you come to know about Sian Chay Medical Institution?” She answered, “I have known Sian Chay for many years, it’s very good here. As a Pioneer Generation member, I receive free consultation and medication. I am very grateful. When I come each time, I donate a little. “Do you know Chairman of Sian Chay Medical Institution Toh Soon Huat?” asked the reporter. She replied: ” of course.  There are very few people like him who serves the residents, he is great, compassionate, sacrificing, selfless, and few people like him have lasted so long. I think Singapore should be proud for having such a philanthropist, he has such great driving force, he is like a beacon, and I hope more can be like him.

Chairman Toh said: “when it comes to charity, there is no need to be sad. Charity is about contributing happily. When I do something, I will think for a long time.  I am thinking how I can make more people have a better understanding of charity, brightness, and compassion. How can I influence more people to do charity, participate in charity, walk this bright path together to serve the public, and step forward to help the poor? This is the universal love and broad spirit propagated by Sian Chay Medical Institution. My vision is for Sian Chay Medical Institution to help more people and advance forward.

新加坡慈善家卓顺发浅谈善济医社百年发展历史

坐落在赤道附近的岛国,远近驰名的花园城市——新加坡,以其热带景色、清洁环境、高度安全和购物天堂吸引了全球各地的人们来旅游度假。

新加坡经济高度发达,同时物价和消费也比较高,其中部分较年长者和低收入者的看病吃药成为一个问题。基于此,著名的新加坡慈善机构——善济医社,善济医社有着119年的历史,中国人在下南洋的时候,为了帮助穷苦的大众自发筹组善济医社,不分种族、宗教、阶级、国籍施衣赠药,造福人群,为经济拮据或者苦求无医的民众提供免费或低收费的中医问诊、推拿和针灸服务。

2008年,善济医社经营困难,濒临关门的危机,善济医社负责人张锦泉先生四顾茅庐成功说服卓顺发先生接管善济医社,善济医社起死回生。

善济医社,社会企业,社会经营,服务社会。善济医社遍布全岛有15间分社,每天服务大约1400人,4间善济资助的康乐中心,每年也有很多居民进行各种有意义的康乐活动,在社会上,也得到了病患和爱心人士的普遍认可和赞许。

为低收入家庭以及老人提供免费问诊,60岁至65岁老人每日拿药只需$1.5新币,建国一代老人看医生拿药完全免费,感恩建国一代年长者对国家的奉献和付出,特殊情况也可以申请全部免费。

善济医社不仅施医赠药,还有春节、母亲节、端午节和中秋节等的庆祝活动,车接车送乐龄人士及居民观看演出,因为这些老人没有经济条件允许花钱娱乐,所以老人们非常开心,向老人发放2万把拐杖和雨伞,分享5000多个粽子和10000多盒月饼给看诊者及低收入家庭,邀请8000多位长者出席音乐会,并聘请兼职理发师和义工到分社为老年人理发,邀请知名人士义务到社区为民众上美术课、音乐课等活动,分购物品,向低收入租房家庭发放10000多份日用礼包等,同时也关注他们的身心健康。

去年母亲节,在卓顺发主席的组织下,新加坡善济医社与新加坡易缇秀开展一场规模空前的母亲节献花活动。当天送出217600朵爱心康乃馨,用217600个祝福温暖着妈妈,看着她幸福的笑容,特别感动、特别温馨。卓顺发主席倡导天下儿女感恩母亲、关爱母亲。用一颗慈悲的心面对亲人、面对需要帮助的人。这次充满正能量的母亲节活动获得全社会的关注和点赞,更是在吉尼斯世界纪录见证官的见证下,打破了吉尼斯世界纪录。

基于这些我们要感谢的是善济这个平台以及善济主席卓顺发太平绅士,在他的带领下,让大家感受到社会的温暖,感受到世间仍有温情在。

有一名记者来到善济医社,看到求医者络绎不绝,让她采访到了很多人。 其中有一名老人:“您是怎么知道善济医社的呢!”她说:“知道很多年了,”她说这里很好,我是建国一代的老人,看病吃药完全免费,非常的感恩,每次我也会捐一点心意。“您认识善济医社主席卓顺发先生吗?”记者问道,她说:“认识”很少有人像他一样为居民服务,像他这样的人很少,他很伟大,慈悲、贡献、大公无私,也很少有人像他维持这么久,我觉得新加坡有出这样一位慈善家感到非常骄傲,他是一种推动力,他就像一盏明灯,希望更多人像他一样。

卓主席说;讲到慈善,慈善不用愁眉苦脸,慈善应该开开心心的去付出,我在做一件事情的时候,我会思考很久很久,怎样让更多人了解慈善,了解光明,了解慈悲,让更多的人做慈善,共襄盛举,光明同行,服务于社会大众,大家站出来,去帮助贫穷的人。这就是善济医社的大爱和广博,希望善济医社可以帮助更多的人,一直努力前行。