Warmth from Sian Chay in the Epidemic

‘Warmth from Sian Chay in the Epidemic”

Toh Soon Huat

This Covid-19 epidemic has brought us many changes to our way of life, life perspectives and insights. Do you remember your aspiration for 2020? MIne was to lead a happy, healthy and joyful life. We must learn to appreciate living and cherish life.

As long as we can get through the epidemic and difficulties safely and live healthily, we can have time and opportunity to solve any problem. If money is no more, you can still earn it. If something is lost, you can fight to regain it. Don’t lose yourself and be bitter.
I feel the rich should help the poor, and those capable should help the weak. This is the fact of life, as well as the truth of nature and the gratitude for our life. In life, there is no ownership but the right to use. We can’t decide the length of life, but we can decide its breadth to make it more meaningful and valuable.

Forgiveness, Compassion, Universal Love, Gratitude and Blessing are very important to living. This are the values of Sian Chay, they can also impact people’s lives.

In 2008, I crossed path with Sian Chay. Founded in 1901, it has a history of 119 years in this land, bringing happiness and well-being to millions of families.

What is the road of charity? How can we bring charity to more people? This is the first and the biggest problem encountered when I took over Sian Chay.

If an enterprise wants vitality, it must have the enterpreneurial spirt. Does this apply to Sian Chay as a charitable organisation? After a thorough understanding of the century old Sian Chay combined with my personal experience, I distilled the cultural values of Sian Chay: Forgiveness, Universal Love, Compassion, Gratitude and Blessing. In line with the nation building to create a harmonious society, Sian Chay Medical Institution actively promotes its belief of”Nation Progresses, Family Prospers; Family Harmony, Successful Endeavours. Forward with the Nation, Bonding with the People”. It vigorously supports charity work, actively participates in charity activities in various communities, civic groups, community centres, etc., to payback to society.

From 2014 to 2019, Sian Chay has received about 1.93 million patient visits and issued 3.63 million medicine prescription. In the next five years, the number of patient visits and medicine prescription is estimated to reach 2.5 million and 4.8 million respectively.
The current epidemic has shocked us mentally and physically. During this period, there have been countless senseless disputes, and doubts, injuries and accusations of one another. It’s extremely sad that we can’t bring brightness together and use wisdom to work together to deal with and discuss the current problems.

This epidemic is the most serious crisis for this generation, and Singapore may face its most serious economic contraction since independence. Indeed a difficult time for all. It’s time for us to do our part to work with the government to overcome difficulties and progress together.

The epidemic has a great impact on our economy. Everyone is directly or indirectly affected to various extent. Sian Chay has also faced difficulties and challenges in fund-raising. Although things are very difficult at present, in this extraordinary time, we should help those groups that bring stability to society. The government goes all out to take care of the people. As a member of society, we should support, encourage and help each other. When others suffer, we must take on our own responsibilities. Use your money and strength where you can to contribute to the country and the people. Work together to tide over the difficulties.

Please don’t fret over your gains and losses at this moment, ask yourself: will you still exist tomorrow?

疫情中的善济温情

疫情中的善济温情

卓顺发

一场冠病疫情,留给我们太多太多的生活改变,人生思考与感悟。还记得2020年的愿望是什么吗?我的是快乐、健康、幸福地活着。活着,我们就必须学会感恩生活,珍惜生命。

只要能平安渡过疫情与难关,健康地活着,任何问题都有时间、有机会去解决。钱没有了,还可以去赚,东西失去了,可以再争取回来,不要自暴自弃,怨天尤人。
我觉得有钱的人应该帮助贫穷的人,有能力的人应该帮助弱小的人,这是真理,也是大自然的道理与生命赐予的感恩。人生从来只有使用权,没有拥有权。我们无法决定生命的长度,那就决定它的宽度,让它更有意义,更有价值。
宽容、慈悲、大爱、感恩、祝福对生活相当的重要,这是善济的文化价值观,它也可以影响人的一生。

2008年,我有缘结识了善济。善济成立于1901年,在这片土地上已经有119年历史,为百万家庭带来了幸福与安康。
慈善之路是什么?怎么把善带给更多的人?这是我接手善济所遇到的第一个难题,也是最大的一个难题。

一个企业要有生命力,必须有企业精神;善济作为慈善机构,是不是也是这样呢?我在彻底了解善济百年历史之后,结合我的个人经历,总结出善济文化价值观:宽容、大爱、慈悲、感恩和祝福。配合国家建设、创造和谐社会,善济医社积极推动“有国才有家,家和万事兴”“善与国同在,济与民同心”的宏观信念;鼎力支持福利事业,积极参加各社区、团体、联络所等的慈善活动,回馈社会。
从2014年至2019年,善济总共服务了约193万看诊人次,发出363万药帖。未来五年,看诊人次估计将达250万人次,发出估计480万药帖。
当前的疫情给我们的精神世界和真实世界带来了震动。这期间发生了无数的无明争执,互相猜疑、伤害与指责,大家无法把光明集合在一起,共同努力以智慧处理和商讨当下所遇到的问题,这是极为可悲的。

疫情是这一代人遭遇到最严峻危机,新加坡可能面临独立以来最严重的经济萎缩,这是一个难关。现在应该是我们尽个人责任,与政府同心协力,克服困难和同进退的时候了。

疫情对经济的打击很大,每一个人都直接或间接受到不同程度的影响,善济也将面临着筹款的困难和挑战。善济医社目前虽然很艰难,但在这特殊时期,我们应该要帮助那些为社会带来安定的团体。政府全力以赴照顾人民,我们作为社会一分子,也要相互支持,相互鼓励,相互帮助。在他人受难的时候,看到自己的责任,大家有钱出钱、有力出力,为国家献力,为民服务。同舟共济、共同渡过难关。
请不要纠结于一时的得失,问自己:明天的你是否依然存在?