83rd Installation Ceremony – Dr. Lam Pin Min

Message from Special Guest

Dr. Lam Pin Min

Senior Minister of State, Ministry of Transport & Ministry of Health

Since 1901, Sian Chay Medical Institution has been providing free Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) Service to the poor and needy in the community. Sian Chay Medical Institution, under the leadership of Mr. Toh Soon Huat, has kept pace with the rapid development of Singapore and the rising expectations of Singaporeans by broadening its scope of services. Sian Chay started modestly with one clinic staffed by only two physicians, a dispenser, and a TCM assistant. However, since its expansion plan began in 2012, it has grown significantly to having 15 branches with 100 TCM staff and 10 corporate staff serving over 1,200 patients daily.

Of note is Sian Chay Medical Institution’s philosophy of serving Singaporeans of all races.  As a result, it is now the TCM Institution serving the highest percentage of non-Chinese patients in Singapore. In recent years, elderly patients, especially those belonging to the pioneer generation, represent over 40% of the total number of patient visits. In addition, Sian Chay also actively participates in community activities such as Mother’s Day, Lantern Festival, Dragon Boat Festival and Mid-Autumn Festival celebrations, and has distributed over 25,000 walking aid umbrellas for the elderly, 5,000 rice dumplings as well as 10,000 goodie bags to the beneficiaries and low-income families.

The rapidly ageing population also translates to an increasing chronic disease burden and complexity in Singapore. Thus, it is also important to focus on preventive medicine, and the government is encouraging Singaporeans to eat healthily and exercise regularly. As a TCM charity, Sian Chay is also educating Singaporeans to understand the concept of ‘prevention is better than cure’. Even as Sian Chay expands its outreach to more people, it is not easy to sustain the rising medical cost. I am delighted to note that a group of benevolent donors have stepped up to contribute financially to support the good works of Sian Chay!

Mr. Toh Soon Huat, Chairman of Sian Chay Medical Institution, has been advocating the five core values ​​of “Forgiveness, Universal Love, Compassion, Gratitude and Blessing” which have permeated into the hearts of not only the patients but also the generous and kind-hearted donors.

I would like to express my gratitude to Sian Chay Medical Institution for their contribution to the society.  And I certainly hope that the younger generation will imbibe this spirit of charity and selfless contribution to make our world a better place for all!

Thank you and warm blessings to all!

第83届(2018- 2021年度)董事宣誓就职典礼 – 蓝彬明医生

《第83届(2018- 2021年度)董事宣誓就职典礼》

7月1日(星期日)

贵宾献词

蓝彬明医生

交通部兼卫生部高级政务部长

善济医社自 1901 年开始,通过中医关怀社区老人和贫困人群的传统已经有一个世纪的历史了。随着新加坡独立后的快速发展,善济医社在卓顺发先生的领导下,紧跟时代潮流,拓宽了它的服务范围。善济从 2012 年开始了它的扩展,从一间只有两名中医师、一名配药员和一名中医助理的小诊所,成为如今拥有 100 名中医员工、10 名行政人员,每天服务病人超过 1,200 人次的 15 间分社。

在卓顺发主席的领导下,善济医社已经成为新加坡服务非华族病人比例最高的中医慈善机构。近年来,年长人群尤其是建国一代,来善济接受中医问诊和治疗的比例已占了总看诊人次的 40%。此外,善济还积极参与社区活动,例如母亲节、元宵节、端午节和中秋节的庆祝活动,向老人发放 25,000 多把拐杖雨伞,分享 5,000 粒粽子给看诊者以及低收入家庭以及向低收入家庭发放 1 万多份礼品袋等等。

目前,我国人口迅速老龄化,人口老龄化意味着慢性疾病带来的负担更大、更复杂。预防疾病的发生也因此变得更加重要。除了饮食健康以外,政府也鼓励国人要多运动,保持身心健康愉快。很庆幸,近几年来随着善济的分社不断的开设,有很多民众也去善济进行治疗,作为一间中医慈善机构,他们更多的教会居民了解知道如何以防病达到治病的效果。同时他们也欢迎很多的非华族人士前来看诊,为国家的和睦和谐做出了卓越的贡献。然而要维持日益高涨医药开销,实属不易,我也很高兴地看到了,善济凝聚了一批志同道合的人士,大家有钱出钱,有力出力,大家的仁心善举,慷慨解囊,为善济在慈善路上走得更远助推者爱的力量!

善济医社主席卓顺发先生一直提倡五大文化价值观“宽容、大爱、慈悲、感恩和祝福”也深深扎入了每个善济人的心中,并通过他们照进了病患的心田,带给了他们温暖。

在此,感谢善济医社为社会所奉献的力量。希望我可以与善济同行,传承有国才有家,家和才万事兴,善与国同在,济与民同心的宏观信念,为年轻一代传递积极行善的理念,为新加坡人民尽献自己的一份力量。

谢谢大家!

祝福!