Redefining the Archaic : The Art of Lim Tze Peng

Redefining the Archaic : The Art of Lim Tze Peng

” Redefining the Archaic : The Art of Lim Tze Peng ” will be held fon 28th of July 2018. The Guest of Honour Mdm Halimah Yacob, the President of the Republic of  Singapore, will officiate at the launch of the exhibition. A fundraising event to raise $500,000 for the President’s Challenge and Sian Chay Medical Institution will be held in conjunction with the launch. The President’s Challenge and Sian Chay Medical Institution will each receive $250,000.

Mr. Melvin Poh , Organising Committee Chairman of ” Redefining the Archaic: The Art of Lim Tze Peng “, Founder and Managing Director of the Fission Group, said that, “Firstly this is to honour  Mr. Lim Tze Peng as well as recognise his contributions to Singapore society. Secondly, it is to raise funds for the President’s Challenge and Sian Chay Medical Institution.”

He also shared that, “There are many kinds of charity, some are genuine charities, some are fake charities. Mr. Toh Soon Huat, Chairman of Sian Chay Medical Institution, is a friend of mine for many years. His dedication to charity is evident to all and I admire him very much for his spirit of selfless devotion without renumeration. He is a role model for me to learn from. I also appreciate the humane services that Sian Chay Medical Institution provides to the residents. My wife and I are only doing small part  and hoping to bring more successful friends to support charity, with money or efforts to shoulder our social responsibility.”

The exhibition of ” Redefining the Archaic : The Art of Lim Tze Peng” will include most of the artworks of Mr. Lim Tze Peng’s artistic career in the past 70 years. It also allows us to understand his artistic ideas and pay our tribute to him through his artworks. In 1981, after Lim Tze Peng retiring as Principal of Xinmin Primary School, he became a full-time painter. With his nostalgic sentiments, he focused on exploring Singapore’s landscape ink painting and innovative traditional calligraphy concepts, and his artworks also earned him the admiration and love from the academic circles and art community. In 2003, Lim Tze Peng was conferred the Singapore Cultural Medallion Award by the Singapore government. In 2016, he again conferred the Meritorious Service Medal to recognize his contributions to the Singapore art community.

Over 60 masterpieces of Lim Tze Peng will be elaborately introduced in the exhibition. These artworks are the most beautiful presentations of his art career since the 1960s, including his oil paintings from the 1960s to the 2000s, the landscape paintings of Kampung and old days Singapore from the 1970s to the 1980s and 2009-2013, a series of life paintings during his trips in Bali and Paris from the 1990s to the mid-2000s, the semi-abstract ink and oil paintings from the mid-2000’s to the early 2000’s, and the calligraphy works since the mid-2000’s.

In this exhibition, several works will be displayed in public for the first time, including the colour calligraphy works recently completed by Lim Tze Peng. Two large-scale abstract tree paintings, including the largest size of “Untitled 21 (Tree)” (264.2 x 538.5 cm), will be the focus of this exhibition.

Mr. Lim Tze Peng is an artist who cares about the country and the people. He often says to people around him, “I would not be who I am today without the support of Singapore.” The theme of the home country also occupies a large part of his works. With art as a brush and love to the motherland as the colour, he presents to the people the beautiful country in his heart. Meanwhile, he is also a philanthropist involved in numerous charity activities. He also has a deep friendship with Mr. Toh Soon Huat, Chairman of Sian Chay Medical Institution, and has participated in numerous charity auctions for Sian Chay .

Sian Chay Medical Institution is a voluntary welfare organization with a history of over 100 years. It aims at advocating healthy lifestyle and blissful living, serving the society with selfless devotion, providing free TCM consultation and subsidized treatment. It is also dedicated to promoting racial harmony and social stability through the platform of Sian Chay. Everyone should cherish the social civilization, social progress and social stability. Everyone should care for each other, live in harmony, and build Singapore into a country of prosperity, universal love and empathy.

Sian Chay was established over 100 years ago. Since 2008 when Mr. Toh Soon Huat assumed Chairmanship, with the support of the public and the dedication of the Directors and management, the century-old Sian Chay has been rejuvenated with new vitality. Within a few years, Sian Chay has grown into a charity network with 15 branches serving over 1,200 patients daily and supported 4 wellness centres visited by 10,000 residents yearly. (The senior citizens holding PG card can enjoy full waiver of medical charges , and the families with needs can also apply for waiver of medical charges.) Sian Chay has received unanimous recognition and praises from the patients and benevolent people in the society.

At present, Sian Chay Medical Institution has about 100 employees. In the past four years (2014 to 2017), Sian Chay has served about 980,000 patient visits and dispensed 1.81 million dosages of  prescription. In the next five years (2018-2022), the forecasted patient visits is 2.5 million, and the dosages of prescription will be 4.8 million.

Every donation of $10 can benefit a patient from a low-income family to enjoy free consultation and medicine at Sian Chay Medical Institution; Helping one patient equals to helping all the family members in relief from the pain and gain the happiness. We hope we can share the Sian Chay TCM charity platform with more people, inspiring more people to work with Sian Chay, to do more charitable deeds, to contribute back to society and benefit people, and create a harmonious and pleasant social atmosphere!

Sian Chay actively participates in community charity events, promotes health awareness, and encourages health care activities. We also plan to offer Chinese language classes to non-Chinese residents. We widely distribute leaflets in four official languages for the  non-Chinese residents to learn about Sian Chay, enjoy Sian Chay’s services, and appreciate Chinese culture. We should communicate with each other, interact with each other, share resources, to foster racial harmony and create a harmonious society. Sian Chay has gained recognition from not only the residents but also people from all walks of life, through the charity activities such as arranging for professional hairdressers to offer regular haircut for the elderly at the branches, inviting renowned people to conduct fine arts classes for the community, distributing goodie bags and etc.

Chairman Toh Soon Huat said, ” We cannot determine the length of our lifespan, but we can determine its depth and make it more meaningful. We should change and improve ourselves at every moment, every occurrence, every experience and every obstacle of the life, so as to make ourselves distinctive from others and benefit the people around us.”

Helping one person is equivalent to helping his family. When any of the family members gets sick, the mood of the whole family will be affected. Our mission is to help the patients stay away from suffering, relieve pain, create a healthy and happy family, and a harmonious society. And this is the charity spirit that Sian Chay has always upheld: Trust , Action, Attitude and Conduct forms the integrity and virtues of charity work .

Sian Chay has been promoting the core values of “Forgiveness, Universal Love, Compassion, Gratitude and Blessing” and integrated them into the daily code of conduct for everyone. Sian Chay advocates the belief that “From the society, For the society. To take care of the disadvantaged groups, with labor or funds. Wishing everyone to work together for contributing to charity cause within one’s efforts.” Because we know that “Nation Progresses, Family Prospers; Family Harmony, Successful Endeavours. Forward with the Nation ,Bonding with the People.’ This can a better society .”

Sian Chay is looking forward to the assistance, participation and support of the benevolent people from all walks of life. We wish the exhibition ” Redefining the Archaic :The Art of Lim Tze Peng ” an overwhelming success!

古石存心:林子平其人其艺

               古石存心:林子平其人其艺

《古石存心:林子平其人其艺》将于2018年7月28日由新加坡总统哈莉玛女士担任主宾,为本展览主持开幕。开展当天也将为总统慈善挑战和善济医社举办募款活动,估计筹款额可达50万元。其中,25万元将被捐赠给总统慈善挑战,而另一半数额则将捐赠给善济医社。

《古石存心:林子平其人其艺》筹委会主席,房地产集团Fission Group的创始人兼董事总经理傅文克先生表示:一方面是敬重林子平先生的人品与他为新加坡社会所做出的贡献,另一方面是为了筹集善款,支持总统挑战基金,支持善济医社。

他还分享说:“慈善分很多种,真心真诚最重要,善济医社的主席卓顺发先生是我多年的朋友,他在慈善事业上的付出有目共睹,我很敬佩他分文不取以及无私奉献的精神,他是我学习的榜样。我也很欣赏善济医社对居民提供温馨的中医保健养生服务。我和太太只是略尽绵薄之力,希望带动身边更多有能力的朋友有钱出钱,有力出力,尽一份社会责任,共襄善举。”

《古石存心:林子平其人其艺》画展展出了林子平先生七十年来艺术生涯的绝大部分作品,也让我们通过他的作品了解到了他的艺术理念,借此向以林子平先生表以敬意。1981年,林子平辞去了新民小学校长的职位后,便成为全职画家,他以具怀旧情怀,着重探索新加坡景色水墨作品与创新传统书法理念,他的作品中也完美的展现了这些,故而得到了学界和艺术市场的推崇与喜爱。2003年林子平获新加坡政府颁发新加坡文化奖予林子平,2016年再次颁发卓越功绩服务勋章,肯定了他对新加坡艺坛所作出的贡献。

此次展将精心推出林子平六十余幅代表作。这些作品是画家自1960年代迄至今艺术创作生涯里最精彩的呈现,当中包括了他于1960年代至2000年代的油画作品、1970年代至1980年代和2009年至2013年的甘榜与新加坡旧时景色作品、1990年代至2000年代中旬于巴厘岛与巴黎旅游写生的系列作品、2000年代中旬至2010年代初期的半抽象水墨和油画作品,以及自2000年代中旬就持续创作至今的书法作品。

此次展览中,多幅参展作品是第一次展示于公众面前,其中包括了林子平近期完成的彩色书法作品。两幅尺幅巨大的抽象树作品,当中包括尺幅最大的《无题21(树)》(264.2 x 538.5 cm),将成为本展览的焦点。

 

林子平先生是一位心怀国家与民众的艺术家。他说常和身边的人说:“如果没有新加坡一方水土的养育,也就没有我的今天。”家国题材在他的作品中也占据了很大一部分,他以艺术为画笔,以对祖国的爱为色彩,为世人展现出了一个他心里那婀娜多姿的祖国。同时他还是一名慈善家,多次参与慈善活动,他与善济医社主席卓顺发先生也有着深厚的友谊,并多次参与善济的慈善捐助。

善济医社是拥有百年历史的社会福利慈善组织,不仅是以倡导健康幸福生活为宗旨,致力服务社会的无私奉献精神,为社会大众提供免费的传统中医诊断和低收费的治疗。同时也通过善济的平台积极为促进种族和谐,社会安定而努力。社会文明、社会进步、社会安定,人人应该珍惜,人人应该爱护,彼此关爱,友好相处,共同创造繁荣,大爱,同理的新加坡。

善济医社成立至今已有百年,自2008年卓顺发先生担任善济医社的主席以来,在社会大众的支持和董事部及团队的努力合作下,让这家百年善社焕发出了新的生命力,使得这家医社在短短的几年间发展成了拥有15间分社,每天服务大约1200多人次的慈善机构,4间善济资助的康乐中心,每年有上万居民到来进行各种有益身心的康乐活动。(持有PG卡的建国一代年长者完全免费,有需要的病患家庭也可以申请完全免费)在社会上,也得到了病患和爱心人士的普遍认可和赞许。

目前,善济医社拥有约100位工作人员.在过去四年里(2014年至2017年),善济总共服务了约98万看诊人次,发出的药帖有181万帖。未来五年(2018年到2022年),看诊人次估计将高达250万人次,发出的药帖估计为480万帖。

捐$10元钱可以惠及来自低收入家庭的一个病患者人次到善济医社问诊、拿药完全免费;帮助一个家庭的一位病患者等同于帮助这个家庭全部成员,让他们离苦得乐,创造幸福美满家庭。同时,我们希望透过此活动将善济医社慈善中医机构平台分享给更多人,让越来越多的人和善济一起前行,多做善事,回馈社会,造福民众,营造和谐美好的社会氛围!

善济积极参与社区慈善活动,宣扬健康意识,鼓励保健活动,还计划为非华族同胞开办华文课程,教他们学习中文。同时我们广泛的分发四个语言的宣传单,让他们了解善济,享用善济的服务,让更多的非华族居民了解中华文化;大家彼此交流、互相互动、共享资源,共同提升,促进种族和谐,创造和谐美好社会。并聘请专业的理发师到每个分社定期为老人家剪头发,邀请知名人士义务下社区为民众上美术课等活动,分购物包等等,不仅得到了民众的认可,也得到了各界人士的广泛认同。

卓顺发主席说:“我们无法决定生命的长度,那么就决定它的宽度,让它更有意义,在生活的过程中,每个瞬间,每个发生,每个经历,每个瓶颈中改变、提升自己,让生命从此与众不同,为世人造福。

帮助一个人,等于帮助一个家庭,任何一个人生病,一家人的心情都会受影响,我们的使命就是帮助病人离苦得乐、解除病痛,创造健康幸福快乐的家庭,和谐社会。而这些也正秉承了善济一直以来的慈善精神:尊敬的信念、尊敬的方式、尊敬的态度、尊敬的行为,是慈善最好的尊重基础。”

一直以来,善济积极弘扬“宽容、大爱、慈悲、感恩和祝福”的精神,同时将这种精神也融入到医社所有人的日常行为中来,推行“取之社会,用之社会。照顾社会弱势群体,有钱出钱有力出力,大家尽心尽力,为慈善献一份力。”的信念,因为我们知道“有国才有家,家和才万事兴,只有善与国同在,济与民同心,社会才会越来越美好,”

期待社会各界善心人士协助善济,期待大家的参与和鼎力支持,预祝《古石存心:林子平其人其艺》画展获得圆满成功!